Thinking Ahead


Today is a cold and gray Sunday, a good day to stay inside and get started weaving for a September show.  Yep, September is 9 months away, but it’s not too soon to start creating, especially since considerable time must be invested to create an inventory of handwoven pieces.

Hmmm, what colors inspire me on a gloomy day?

I think I will keep it simple and work with just 2 colors.

Now, it’s to the computer to design.    This is the most creative part of the process because there are so many options to explore.   The only part I don’t like is that the program I use for designing only operates off a PC, and I am very attached to my Apple.  Since I am working with just 2 colors, I think I will play around with shadow weave structures.

The computer can’t totally show how a finished fabric will look, but it gives a pretty darned good idea.

With the design work being done, the next step is threading the loom, not my favorite part of weaving, but you have to be warped to weave!

All is ready, so let the weaving begin.  It doesn’t take long to see the results of the design effort, and with each throw of the shuttle, I’m thinking ahead to what the next piece will look like, a little change here and there with color and treadling order, and I can create a whole different look with this warp.

Creating, not a bad way to spend a Sunday.  How are you spending your day?

Loom: 16 harness, 60″ AVL

Computer Program: Weave Planner

Weave Structure: 6 harness shadow weave

Fibers from Silk City Fibers

This entry is linked to Seasonal Sunday and Blue Monday.

i love your comments, so jump right in and share yours

24 thoughts on “Thinking Ahead

  1. What beautiful colors and design. I am so impressed with your talent.

    It’s gloomy here today also and we have ice predicted tonight and tomorrow. Just hope we don’t loose power. I’m reading blogs sitting at the kitchen table watching my husband play outside making and keeping a fire going in his fire pit.

    • That is really beautiful! I can’t get over how neat it is from the design process to the final product. And you picked great colors! I am just wowed by all of this. Looks like you’re having a good time in the cold weather.

      Don’t feel bad… we have cold temps in Florida today, too. I’ve never seen a winter like this in my life. I hope it is over SOON!

      XO,

      Sheila :-)

  2. Aren’t computers wonderful?

    I’m so glad that Donnie suggested you join in Blue Monday’s fun.

    I’m in Florida too, and it’s 66 degrees here in Tampa.

    Happy Blue Monday.

  3. Hi linda

    I definately think different colours are definately connected with our mood on any given day.

    Happy weaving!

    Julie

    • Howdy
      Happy Blue Monday to you :)
      Great post for a winter day !
      Thank you so much for sharing your awesome talents with us. Love the colors you chose .Just beautiful .
      Until next time
      Happy Trails

  4. This are quite lovely. I love the colors and pattern.
    I saw your comment on my blog (about weaving-Coppergate) and then found your blog. I envy your loom. Anyway, perhaps this is a case of “small world” since you seem to visit or live in Rockport, Maine. My mom (Sally Loughridge-Busch) lives and works in the area as a pastel painter. I wonder if you have crossed paths.
    In any event, your work is lovely. I really like the pattern that you have made in this most recent post but your gallery is lovely too. Happy Monday to you.

  5. What a beautiful wall of colour and result on the loom! I can see why you don’t need to dye more yarn yourself.
    Judy

You make my day with your comments

