Napkins 101


Every week, many of us bloggers gather at Tablescape Thursday to share our creative efforts.  As simple as it may be, my favorite part of doing a table is choosing the right napkins and folding them in some fun, interesting way.  Most of the time, it’s pretty simple, like this one, for example.

Fold the napkin in half.

Turn top layer back to bottom fold.  Yes, with many napkins there is a wrong side, but that’s OK.

Turn the bottom edge up to the middle fold or slightly above it.  That covers at least half of the napkin’s wrong side.

Fold the napkin in half taking care to keep the folds straight.

Fold in half once more and you have just the right size pocket in which to insert your utensils.  Depending on the occasion, you might even want to put a flower or some little happy into the pocket as well.

Now, wasn’t that easy?

Napkin folding is one of my favorite things, and I’m going over to Favorite Things Saturday to see what others  enjoy.

i love your comments, so jump right in and share yours

9 thoughts on “Napkins 101

  1. I’ll always think of you when I see a cleverly folded napkin. Too bad I haven’t inherited your talent (and I confess…I use PAPER napkins 9 times out of 10!). HAPPY FRIDAY!

  2. I love napkins, and dishes, and….
    I always look for the 2 sided ones, or make them with 2 sided fabric. . I wonder if you could just fold it under so it didn’t show?
    I just spent an hour going through hundreds of napkin rings on ebay. Can you tell I am snowed in?? 🙂

  3. I’ve been wanting to visit you since you comment on Linsey! I don’t know how to make sense but what you said about Linsey just struck a chord in me. Don’t have a clue as to why.
    I can see you in her…so glad you visited and I always wondered how to fold a napkin…really:)
    have a good weekend:)

    • It will be fun to see how our words flow. I have already gone through what many of you younger women are talking about. These days I take life as it comes which brings with it more contentment.

  4. I want to try this. When I’ve seen it, I’ve always thought it was so great looking. Thanks for the directions, and thank you for linking it to Favorite Things. laurie

  5. Pingback: Creating A Table « Lulu's Musings

You make my day with your comments

