The Blues


In Texas, it’s bluebonnets.

In Maine, it’s lupines.

Each is the state flower of the state.

Bluebonnets bloom in mid spring, lupines in early summer, and both are from the same family of perennials with these differences:

Lupines are not long-lived perennials, but their extravagant beauty makes them well worth including in the garden. Most lupines do not like heat and so will not grow well in hardiness zones above 5, with one exception – The Texas BlueBonnet. The Texas BlueBonnet is native to Texas and will grow in the Texas heat and so can be grown in other parts of the United States with hot weather. 

No matter when they bloom, they add their own particular beauty and transform the landscape.  When they are in season, it’s impossible to take too many photos.

Tell me, do either of these lovelies bloom in your area?

Joining Blue Monday and Metamorphosis Monday

i love your comments, so jump right in and share yours

7 thoughts on “The Blues

  1. I love all the colors of blue! I remember in California, they looked more like Texas bluebonnets than these do.

  2. No blue bonnets, I believe we do have lupines.
    I remember a story in the reader I used with my class. The Legend of the Blue Bonnets.
    It must look beautiful. I love blue flowers!

You make my day with your comments

