Woe Is Me!


One of the things I most look forward to in Maine is my garden coming alive with peonies, a favorite flower that just doesn’t grow in Houston.

They have different shapes  and sizes 

and bloom white

and beautiful shades of pink, light

and dark.

I love going out every morning and welcoming them, taking in their lushness

and maybe even snipping a few for an inside bouquet.

Alas, this year I missed all but the buds because of a nearly three week absence and today my beauties look like this

and this

and this.

Oh well, there’s always next year, and they will return.  I will marvel over their beauty and be reminded once again of my friend Linda who loved these beautiful flowers.

Joining Texture TuesdayPink Saturday, Fishtail Cottage and Outdoor Wednesday.

i love your thoughts, so jump right in and share yours

13 thoughts on “Woe Is Me!

  1. I love peonies too. I transplanted some from my mom’s garden into mine this year and I’m hoping they bloom next season. Your colors are so pretty. I’m sure you’ll enjoy them next year! Happy Outdoor Wednesday.
    ~Lynn

  2. Oh that is too bad! I look forward to them blooming too. The aroma is heavenly! Do you have a lot of hydrangea in Maine? And do you have to fight off the deer like we do here? They even eat the roses!
    I am sorry you missed peony season.

  3. I finally decided to get plant one and hoped that the little space would be perfect. LOTS of lovely green leaves but not a bud to be found. I’ll be curious to see what it looks like when it decides to show up – next year!

  4. You’ll have to treat yourself to some at the store! I did dry some this year (another blogger shared how). Pretty but definately not as pretty as the real thing! i will say that they are still fragrant though! Thanks so much for linking up to Cottage Flora Thursday’s last week! Hope to see you again this upcoming week! xoxo, tracie

You make my day with your comments

