Taking It All In


I never tire of what I see of Maine from the water, and today I paid special attention knowing that it’s the last boat outing of the season.

The destination is North Haven, one of the more than 3,000 islands off the coast and one of the 15 or so that can still claim a year round population.

North Haven has the feeling of having been there for a very long time.  The post office, the American Legion hall, the church have seen generations come and go.

The permanent population is less than 400, but in the summer that number swells considerably with the return of families who’ve had  seasonal homes on North Haven for years.  Getting there can be done only by boat or ferry, and if you take the ferry you don’t want to miss the last one.

This day was a quiet one on the island.  Most of the people from away are gone and residents are getting ready for the oncoming winter.

A shop or two is still open

and the island eatery is serving its last sandwiches and ice cream.  As you can see, the choices are limited!

Lobstermen and women are still at work, and at the end of the day they take time out for a few laughs and easy conversation about the day’s haul.

Leaving the island behind and heading back to Rockport Harbor, I take it all in.  

The Camden Hills are hazy in the distance,

islands are lit by the afternoon sun,

the wind turbines on Vinalhaven sing their song,

the shoreline makes me think of a painting.

Best of all, ahead, Indian Island is welcoming me home.  This is the picture I will see in my mind through the winter months.

Sharing the fun at Seasonal Sundays and Blue Monday 

i love your thoughts, so jump right in and share yours

21 thoughts on “Taking It All In

    • I don’t know whether we will ever live here full time, but I cherish every moment I spend in a place I love. It’s not just the place, it’s the people as well who make it so special.

  1. Oh my love this area I can see that already and I have never been. ENLARGE that wonderful picture of the lighthouse and look at it often. It is a slice of heaven. Thanks for sharing this wonderful place.

  2. Great pictures.. I spent some time in Maine. My sister-in law ‘s parents live at Old Orchard Beach and we spent some time there. and my son-in law was statationed at Portland with the Coast guard. Beautiful place.

  3. This comes to you from Dallas, Linda! I am here for another week before heading back to wonderful Rockland. Great photos, especially that “happy flag”! Sure explains the reason why we live in Maine.

  4. Linda,
    This is beautiful. I’m aware of how much is told with a photo; you have taken us on a lovely journey. And, welcome back! Stephanie

You make my day with your comments

