What Friends!


What a surprise when I opened the refrigerator  and saw it full  of what I learned were cake balls, something new to me.  Now I know that they are a baked cake, crumbled and mixed with frosting, shaped into balls and decorated with chocolate.

So, what prompted this effort?  These gals had a friend who was getting married and expressed a desire to have cake balls decorated as tuxedos.  Sure, said the friends, can do.  Little did they know what effort was required to make hundreds of them.

They were up to their elbows in melted white and dark chocolate.  First, the balls had to be dipped,

then meticulously decorated.  Think about the time required to get each one just right.

Finally, after completing a couple of hundred, time and patience were running short, so the last batch of cake balls were dipped in either light or dark chocolate and mixed in with the tuxedo balls.  To my eye that looked just fine and was a loving gift from friends to a friend.

Just wondering, would you be that good a friend?

Joining Seasonal Sundays

i love your thoughts, so jump right in and share yours

14 thoughts on “What Friends!

  1. Hi lovely lady.
    I love your post!!! I ALSO love Cake balls dip in Chocolate!!!yummy..
    I would like to thank you so much for your sweet comment on my new Tablescape.
    I hope you and your family have a great Thanksgiving Day.
    XXOO Diane

  2. OK. Linda….you KNOW I have to remark about the stunning absence of food in that refrigerator. You survive on champagne, filtered water, and almond milk??!?!?!?! Where’s the beef??!?!??! 🙂 OK…I’m done being a smarty pants now! I have heard that making those little cake balls is akin to mowing the grass with tweezers: very tedious, very time consuming. These ARE good friends. They did a wonderful job, and it’s a shared experience they will never forget. Cool! Now get your little hips to the grocery store and get some grits and gravy! 😉

  3. I know it’s a gift from the heart and so adorable! I made 100’s of heart shaped cookies and decorated with a pink icing and white dots 6 years ago for my godchild-niece for her wedding! The love it’s what makes one work like crazy, with time consuming “little” things!… lol!! Thanks for your lovely visit and Happy Thanksgiving season. Hugs, FABBY

  4. I was just going to say what did they do with the food that was in the frig LOL! Those cake balls a so cute. What a nice bunch of friends to help out with making them. They turned out darling!~Ames

  5. What a lovely gift…and all the more special because they were made by friends. That is the way things used to always get done, friends helping friends. Just think of all the barn raisings that occurred throughout the country.

You make my day with your comments

