Something’s Fishy


Fresh haddock from Maine is the featured menu item for the gourmet group’s dinner this week, so it seems appropriate for the tablescape to reflect something fishy.  With that in mind, I began shopping the house.

The first thing I spot are these fish stemmed goblets sitting on a watery tray.

 They  work great as a focal point, and their height is varied by placing some on glass candle holders.  Filling in the spaces between the goblets are flower filled small vases from the Dollar Store.  I’m thinking it would be nice to have some more of these, but they are probably gone by now.

Continuing the search for something fishy, I find these glass fish plates. Gosh, I haven’t seen these in a while, and they are a perfect fit.

Etched stems from the 30’s and 40’s sit side by side with funky shaped clay glasses that were bought years ago at an outdoor art show.

Brightly colored napkins folded accordion style and fanned out are added to complete  the table.  They may not be fishy, but they do pick up the colors of the vases, flowers and goblets.

With the table all set, it’s time to think about the menu that will feature seared haddock topped with crabmeat and served atop sweet potatoes mashed with butter and maple syrup and surrounded by roasted brussel sprouts.

A word about brussel sprouts.  They are not the hubby’s favorite, and I’ve had to experiment to get him to eat them.  I’ve found that by cutting them in half, blanching in boiling water for a minute or two and then placing them in ice cold water until they are completely cooled takes the bitter taste away. After they are well drained on paper towels, I roast them in olive oil and bacon drippings with diced, cooked bacon or pancetta in a 450 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  The tasty result is one that not even the hubby complains about.

Joining Tablescape Thursday, Foodie Friday and Friday Food.

i love your thoughts, so jump right in and share yours

15 thoughts on “Something’s Fishy

  1. OOh i love brussel sprouts. Good tip. Need to try that. I love those fish goblets.. so pretty. I have those fish plates too, they are so cool. You pulled this together fabulously.. xo marlis

  2. Linda~ What a great catch your fish stems & watery tray are! I love your punch of pattern & color from your fan folded napkis too. Your menu sounds mouth-watering! We love brussel sprouts roasted in the oven, especially if there is bacon tossed in!

  3. Those goblets are perfect! I’ve never seen any quite like them. Your table is fun and festive. As for the brussel sprouts…we didn’t hate them boiled the way our mothers made them, but once I tried them roasted, we never went back! It changes the flavor so much and we love them. I’ve never used bacon, just olive oil, salt and pepper…I’ll have to try that.

  4. Frist of all, I’m going to try that method for the Brussel sprouts. I just bought some yesterday, and I’m always looking for new ways to prepare them. Ramon loves them. I’m on the fence about them. So I’ll try out the recipe when I cook them on Saturday. As for your table….so creative!!! This was really top drawer thinking!!! The fan of the napkin reminds me of a fish tail, so it totally works!!! The bright colors are beautiful and soothing and invigorating all at once! Brilliant!

    • I cut the brussels sprouts in half and trimmed the end before putting them in boiling water. Be sure not to overcook! When you roast them use the bacon grease mixed with a little olive oil.

  5. Hi lovely lady.
    Wow !! Your fish Goblets are Gorgeous !! I love the way you have put your Tablescape all together. I would like to thank you so much for your sweet comments on my tablescape and kitchen. Hope you have a wonderful weekend with your family.
    XXOO Diane

You make my day with your comments

