That Something Extra


As confessed before, I love bottles and frequently have them as part of table decor.  Sometimes they are filled with blooms, other times they may be a candleholder or they may  simply add color to the table as they do here.

The runner in shades of purple, orange and green was already in place and provided clues for the colors to be repeated.  With all the shapes, sizes and colors of bottles I have, it was no problem picking the ones that would work.

I hadn’t thought about what dishes to use for dinner, but when I opened the cabinet door, these jumped right out.  They are from Target’s Octavia Hill Collection and have all the right colors.  How lucky is that!

Completing the setting for a week night dinner at home are green Fostoria glasses and a mixed collection of Pier One napkins.  Setting the table is, for me, the fun part of preparing dinner.  The little extra effort to make it attractive communicates positive vibes to the family and, perhaps, makes the food taste better!

Later in the day, the light shining through the glass added an extra sparkle.   Until that moment, I had not noticed that the colors on the table were very much the same as those in the chair behind.   I’ll not confess to that being purposeful!

With the table set, it’s time to move on to dinner.    Since it is the beginning of the Chinese New Year, this will be a good time to try one of Grace Young’s stir fry recipes.  Come back tomorrow and I’ll share some of her tips with you.

Joining Tablescape Thursday which each week features wonderful tablescapes.  Check it out.

i love your thoughts, so jump right in and share yours

17 thoughts on “That Something Extra

  1. You could not have picked more perfect plates!!! It’s as if the plate maker and the fabric guy were sitting in the same room collaborating!!! I love the design of the plates! VERY pretty!!! I also really like the rims of the plates. They’re kind of like a basket weave or something like that…very cool!

  2. Love the idea of using bottles for a centerpiece. So intriguing to look at. Your table colors are very warm and inviting. love this combination.. xo marlis

    • Now that I think about it, Bonnie, some of my clothes are in that color way, but I am such a color freak I go for them all. For the last few months I’ve been wearing a lot of gray/black and adding color. That was something new.

  3. I should have seen your blog about 3 hours ago. I am guilty of grabbing napkins, utensils, and putting them straight on the table, filling plates, and sitting down. I’ll use the excuse I was working up until 5 minutes of that “sit down” moment.

  4. Hi..thank you for your comment on my tablescape…I popped over to see yours and love it…Ya gotta love target. The plates look like the Tracy Porter collection they had a while ago…Beautiful tablescape…I just subscribed to your site!…Look forward to more of your beautiful creations!

    Shirley
    Housepitality Designs

  5. I love these warm colors! I have a few bottles, but now I think I need to look for some in other colors. The Target dishes are so pretty — I love anything with fruit in the pattern. It really does make family dinners feel special when the table is “dressed”! Thanks for visiting my table this week.

  6. Your bottles make the perfect centerpiece for this table! The colors are rich and warm, and I know I must like them because they are the colors of my living room rug! What a great purple bottle–I don’t see too many in that color! Thanks for sharing!

    Elaine
    Creating Wonderful Spaces

  7. What gorgeous plates~ I love their pattern & vivid color! Color is such a mood enhancer and I love your bold use of it in your furnishings! I love bottles too~ they are perfect here as a centerpiece at your table 🙂

You make my day with your comments

