400 and Counting


I’ve learned from WordPress that 400 entries have been posted on Lulu’s Musings.  It has taken two years, eight months and six days to accomplish that, and I can’t help but wonder how much is left.

As you may realize, I live in two places, Rockport, Maine and Houston, and the reason for starting the blog was to keep in touch with friends in both places.  While there are friends who follow along, something surprising has happened.  So many of you in blogland have become new friends,  and I am so grateful to have you share the journey.

The first table

It may come as no surprise that my first post was a tablescape.  I love setting tables, adding touches of whimsy, manipulating fabric, folding napkins, and they are such a great place to use bottles filled with flowers!

Where there are tables, there has to be food, and I have shared a number of recipes. A favorite was this tried and true apple dapple cake.

Sea Smoke on Rockport Harbor, Peter Ralston

With all that has been shared about Maine, you are right if you guess that I love this place with such character and natural beauty.

Rodeo Parade, Houston

Houston is a horse of a different color, but with all that goes on in the nation’s fourth largest city there is always something that piques my interest.

Machupicchu

In addition to writing about where I live, travel adventures to Machu Picchu,

Bartolome in the Galapagos

the Galapagos,

Grand Canyon at dawn, P Lewis

the Grand Canyon

Les Braves in Normandy, P Lewis

and Europe have been shared.

From time to time I’ve asked life questions, be they about politics or turning gray, but I rarely share personal opinions or beliefs.  Those are things I like to do face to face in the company of friends.

During this journey, changes have occurred in my family.  One daughter has welcomed two children into her home giving her three little boys 3 and under.  Talk about having your hands full!

Another daughter and her family left Houston for farm life in Tennessee.

My mother passed away, leaving a hole in my heart.

Who knows what will happen next, but I hope to keep writing….for me and for you.  Sharing tends to keep me focused, encourages me to pay attention to what is around me and  imposes the discipline of writing, a skill that had lain dormant.  I look forward to continuing on and having you with me, and I’ll be checking out your stories as well.  Who knew all that could happen because of a blog?

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

14 thoughts on “400 and Counting

  1. Linda – This is beautiful and so personal. I’ve only recently begun to read your blog, but I look forward to youir next 400.

  2. Lulu,
    You share your beautiful family, wonderful places and your creativity and we are richer for it.

    Some blogs on our blog rolls come and go, the content doesn’t stand up to the test of time, but yours is now firmly embedded in my blogroll because your posts brighten my day and your content is great. From tables to travels I love it all.
    Congratulations on your first 400 🙂 I’m looking forward to your next 400 posts too!!!

  3. I have known you since we were just silly little girls, but reading your blogs has given me a connection with you that I cherish. Thank you for giving me a glimpse of your wonderful life, your tablescapes, travels and family! By the way, your beautiful daughter in the first photo looks like your twin! Looking forward to many more blogs, Linda! They’re interesting, informative, and entertaining.

  4. I’m just going to come right out and say it. You brought this on yourself. When I saw that photo of your, your daughter & her family on that John Deere, my mind immediately went to, “Green Acres is the place to be, faaa-a-arm livin’ is the life for me!” Sorry. Had to get that off my chest. Congratulations on your 400 fabulous entries! This blogging thing really becomes a part of your life, doesn’t it? I have so enjoyed making your acquaintance and following all the fun and interesting things you are up to each week. You always provide such great photos to go along with your tales of what’s going on in your life. The Apple Dapple cake recipe must have been posted some time before I started following you, so I am going to look that bad boy up. I’m having guests this weekend, and I think that cake would be fantastic to have on hand. It looks so pretty! I know your Mom has been gone for nearly a year now, and I know that you miss her. I’m sorry for that. I am happy to see that your other daughter has added to her family. Three boys!!!! That has GOT to be a handful!!! I wish you success on your next 400, and I really, really hope that we are able to cross paths in person someday soon. It’s meant to be. Have a great week!

  5. A lovely post to celebrate!
    I’m so pleased I found your blog, you have so much to share. looking forward to the next 400 🙂

  6. Hi Linda, I have only recently begun to read your blog and I enjoy every post. I too am a Maine lover, traveling there almost every month and hoping to someday land there in retirement. I don’t know if I found you because I saw something about Maine or because I am always on the lookout for other Lindas, but I am happy to be visiting you. I am planning a trip back through your older posts, as those mentioned today are so tempting! Keep going–there is so much to show us from your great state. Linda

  7. It’s better having you here, but I do enjoy your blog while away, and enjoy yet another fascinating aspect of your wonderful character. Come home!

  8. Don’t stop the blog. When I read yours I pretend that I could do this. After all, I worked in journalism; I have traveled quite a bit; have two homes,one of which is in a gorgeous area, especially in this season; and have a small but wonderful family. But I am kidding myself. You are the me I wish I could be.

  9. Congratulations on reaching such an amazing milestone! I know that when I visit your blog, I’m always in for a treat – thank you 🙂

    Here’s to another 400 posts (and maybe I’ll catch up to you someday)!

You make my day with your comments

