On the Porch


screen porchMost of my days start on the porch where I can hear the faint trickle of water from the fountain, hear bird sounds, think quietly, read and enjoy that first cup of coffee.

chamelionSometimes I’m joined by a little critter who found its way in and lounges above my head.  So long as he doesn’t jump down, I’m OK with that!

screen porchI had to beg and plead for this space when we built our house.  The architect and I envisioned it as something wonderful, my husband couldn’t imagine ever spending a minute there making the cost of the porch unnecessary.  I don’t remember now whether the architect just made it a part of the total design or if the hubby got so tired of my whining he gave in!  In any case, the porch has been much used and enjoyed.

screen porchUntil a few days ago, past their prime cushions were on most of the furniture and no where could I find replacement pieces.  After spending hours on the internet, I finally found Cushion.com in Sherman Oaks, CA.  Pick your sunbrella fabric, send your measurements and a couple of weeks later custom cushions are delivered.

embroidered pillowAdd to them embroidered pillows on sale at Pier One and there’s a whole new look.

holiday decor on the porchWith it being the holiday season I could see no reason for the porch not to have some festive touches.  Santa speeds by a candle lit tree, probably off to hear children’s special Christmas wishes.

holiday decor on the porchA reindeer finds its way onto the porch, no doubt waiting for Santa’s request to pull his sleigh.

holiday decor on the porchAs long as the weather stays nice, there’s no question many evening meals will be enjoyed here, and there’s no better time to use the Christmas dishes than now.

Santa platesWith their happy Santa design, these are my favorites.  They are Bella Ceramica and were ordered from an unremembered catalog some years ago.

porch tablescapeMother gave me the Spode Christmas tree glasses and taking them out of the cabinet for the season is like welcoming an old friend as well as a reminder of her.

porch tablescapeBecause they are so easy to make, I have many sets of seasonal napkins.  All you have to do is serge the edges, no hem required!

porch tablescapeIt’s time for that second cup of coffee.  If you are any where close, stop in.  It only takes a second to brew another cup, and it’s a beautiful day on the porch.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Sharing with

Pink Saturday

Home for the Holidays

Show and Tell Saturday

A Favorite Thing

Seasonal Sundays

Metamorphosis Monday

32 thoughts on “On the Porch

  1. If I had that porch, I would be out there all the time! I love your ‘companion’ – so nice that you two can co-exist together!

    Thanks so much for joining in this week!

    xo
    Claudia

  2. Oh how lovely. We were blessed to have an enclosed porch a couple of houses back and loved it so much. It got a ton of use – from eating lunches out there, to working on the fun and easy crafts my grandkids and I enjoy. Perfect when it was raining and we couldn’t go outside. I really enjoyed it and how grand that you got to add it to your house. Merry Christmas and Happy Pink Saturday

  3. Nothing like a porch and our weather has been perfect to put yours to good use. Love the fountain and I have a *thing* for reindeer! Sweet memories with your Spode Christmas tree glasses.

  4. A blessing to enjoy the porch this time of year! Looks cozy!
    I had to beg for mine too, but he has admitted it was a wonderful idea to do a wrap around porch. It adds so much charm to the house, and we get a lot of use from it!

  5. After not wanting to have the porch, does your husband spend much time out there? I know my husband does the same thing. They just don’t have the gift of vision like we do! It’s nice that you were able to look forward and recognize the pleasure such a spot would offer over the years.

    • Twice last week the hubby came and joined me on the porch admitting that it was a very pleasant place, but that may have something to do with the incredible weather we are having right now.

  6. Just saw ‘On the Porch’. Too late, but I went to the Farmer’s Market. See my texts to you, and you and I may have to do a Farmer’s Market date soon!

  7. Oh I wish I was around the corner, not just for the coffee and the company but to enjoy a moment on your porch. What a truly lovely space to sit and start your day, and no doubt on occaision end it there too !

  8. Your porch is wonderful, how lovely and soothing to have a space like that. Love all of your holiday touches, your dishes are so darling.

    Happy weekend!

  9. My porch is so tiny…but used all the time. If I had yours, I don’t think I’d ever come in. Cute kind of funky Christmas touches.
    Balisha

  10. I really enjoyed your porch tour! You have a lovely home and all your Christmas treasures are aewsome! I lover your Spode stemware! Very festive! Have a nice weekend.

  11. Lulu, your porch is worth every penny and then some! What a gorgeous haven to relax and enjoy the morning brew. Love the new cushion, and that reindeer is so cute!
    Hugs,
    Patti

  12. Aren’t you thrilled that you got the porch!! Lovely porch at that!! Your chairs look so comfortable and you have a lot of room and light to shine in! We have a screen porch that about 20 x 20 and I want to close it in and make a sun room so we can use it all year long. My favorite place to be!

  13. Oh how cosy! You’re not afraid of some vivid colors, I love that. Must be a good place to wake up with a cup of tea in the morning! The pillows are fabulous. Saw some like that at Ikea, but not as detailed. Love it! 🙂

You make my day with your comments

