Thankful Morning


ThanksgivingIt is early Thanksgiving morning, and for the moment I am the only one stirring.  I’ve walked through the house thinking about how in a few more hours it will be filled with family….the daughters, their husbands and children, my sister-in-law and niece, a son-in-law’s mother, each one of whom is so special to me.  I treasure each of the moments we are able to be together.

Thanksgiving 2013The table waits in expectation,

Thanksgivingand it is the table of tradition set with very old Della Robbia dishes that come out of the cabinet for their once a year appearance.

ThanksgivingNo Thanksgiving here would be complete without the dryer hose pumpkins dancing down the middle of the table.    I wonder if they will last long enough to become part of a daughter’s Thanksgiving tradition when the day comes to transition to another table.

ThanksgivingIn the kitchen, the turkey is ready to be seasoned and roasted, cranberries wait to pop in their juice.   Cornbread dressing is ready for the oven.  It makes me think of my mother who for so many years made it and the giblet gravy.  Though I try to make it just the same it never seems quite as good to me.  When my niece awakes, she is going to make a sweet potato pie that sounds mouthwateringly good!

With each step I take around the house and as I sit here typing away, my head is filled with gratitude for all that makes my existence so comfortable.  Of course, family is at the top of the list, and today I am especially grateful for the normalcy in my life, something so many people in this world are not experiencing.  

ThanksgivingIn no small way, I also appreciate each one of you who find your way to my musings that are the threads of my existence, and your visits and comments give me reason to continue sharing.  Here’s to each one of you, and I hope you have a most wonderful day no matter where you are.

 

36 thoughts on “Thankful Morning

    • Years ago they were made at a place where I volunteer and they are among my favorite fall items. No Thanksgiving would be complete without them on the table.

  1. A Wonderful and Happy Thanksgiving to all of you. Linda, I look forward to transitioning from the free and nature-filled life in Maine to the urban setting in Houston. Many more Lulu’s Musings in the New Year! You are really Special!!

  2. aah.. what a great spread you have prepared Linda.. I can almost hear the chatter around your lovely decorated set table.. happy Thanksgiving to you/r family x hugs j – ps.. I very thankful I was connected to you via our mutual friend Jeanne and that I could assist your sisterhood explore, discover, renew, relax, and be amazed at ‘my’ S E Asia. hugs x j

  3. Sounds like you had a fun day planned!!! Your dryer hose pumpkins are adorable! I hope the day was filled with laughter and fun – a real blessing to have your family with you. A calm, normal life is surely something to be thankful for. We are blessed! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. 🙂

  4. I enjoyed reading about your day surrounded by family. Love your table. I have family here for four days and we are all sitting around watching football tonight. I am reading blogs mostly. It has been a blessed day.

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving Day! | The cozy nook

You make my day with your comments

