A Morning With Ina…..kinda


Linda_  019Thinking it would be a fun way to spend time together, my daughter and I spent a Saturday morning cooking with Ina Garten or at least with her recipes.  The focus of this Sur La Table class was easy fixings for a holiday party, so if you are still thinking about what goodies to serve New Year’s you may find the answer here.

cooking classWe began by preparing crab cakes that are baked, not fried.  It sure makes it easy when all the ingredients are in front of you and all you have to do is mix them.

cooking classWhen the mix is ready, it is dropped by a hefty teaspoon onto a parchment lined sheet and popped into the oven.

carmelized baconWhile the crab cakes were baking, we were busy preparing caramelized bacon (recipe follows), cheddar/jalapeno crackers, smoked salmon deviled eggs, sausage in puff pastry and mini coconut cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.  Even though each of these was easy to prepare, I kept reminding myself it would take some time to make enough for a large gathering.

cooking classOf course, when everything was done we got to sample the work of our hands.  I’m not sure what I liked the best, but being a real fan of deviled eggs, they were at the top of my list.  The caramelized bacon was outrageous, and it would be delish as a garnish for a salad.

cooking classMost of the recipes were from this cookbook, a signed copy of which was part of the class.  It was a great way to spend a morning, and we left with some great new recipes and a few new cooking skills.  

The only disappointment was my camera battery was dead and the iPhone was not a great substitute under the lighting.  Oh well…..

Carmelized Bacon

1/2 c. light brown sugar, lightly packed

1/2 c. chopped pecans

1 t. kosher salt

1 t. ground black pepper

1/8 t. cayenne

2 T. maple syrup

1/2 lb. thick sliced applewood smoked bacon

Preheat oven to 375.  Line a sheet pan with aluminum foil and place a wire baking rack on top.

Combine brown sugar and pecans in a food processor and process until the pecans are finely ground.  Add salt, black pepper and cayenne. Pulse to combine.  Add the maple syrup and pulse until crumbs are moistened.

Cut each bacon slice in halt crosswise and line up the pieces on the baking rack without touching.  With a small spoon evenly spread the pecan mixture on top of each piece of bacon.

Bake for 25-30 minutes until the topping is browned but not burnt.  If it’s under baked, the bacon won’t crisp as it cools.

While it’s hot, transfer the bacon to a plate lined with paper towels and set aside to cool. Serve at room temperature.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

On the Menu Monday

21 thoughts on “A Morning With Ina…..kinda

  1. That looks like a great class. I’ve always enjoyed Sur la Table and Ina. In fact my only signed book by Ina was at a Sur La Table event here in Kirkland, Washington. What a wonderful thing to do with your daughter.

  2. How FUN!!! What a great idea to do it with your daughter, too. Once mine is out from under child care, I hope we can plan such an outing, together too.
    We always have applewood smoked bacon on hand, so I’m anxious to try making this recipe as a topping for salads. Thanks so much for sharing it!!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
    fondly,
    Rett

  3. Lulu,

    I have to say first that your daughter inherited your beauty! Secondly, I LOVE Sur la Table and Ina so this was a great read! I have this cookbook and have only leafed through it so I’m glad you pointed out the recipes you tried in the class. Everything looks so delicious!

    XO,
    Jane

  4. Just father and I here. Chicken portabella ravioli, spinach rollatina, fresh French bread, almondItalian wedding cake, Colombian coffee, Dutch chocolate ice cream. Don’t want to over do it so have Diet Pepsi. Happy New Year.

  5. I made these for Thanksgiving a day in advance, and I had to seriously restrain myself form eating them all before they made it to my dinner! The spinach/bacon combo is a really tasty twist on traditional deviled eggs. The only modification I made was using Morning Star veggie bacon, as I’m vegetarian.

You make my day with your comments

