Destination: Target


The intent was to drive to Augusta to pick up a few things at Target.  Somehow the one hour drive turned into several hours.  Why? Simple answer: I was by myself and could stop anywhere that caught my eye!

Driving Highway 17 to Augusta, there are a number of small, really small, towns: Hope, Union, Jefferson, Washington, Windsor, Somerville.  There’s not a whole lot in any of these places, but here and there is a place that merits a look, and I made a point of seeing them all.

antiquesFirst stop: Porter’s Antiques

antiquesAs the sign advertises, it is full of treasures.

antiquesHow could I not think of you who like French Country decor when I saw these chairs?  Your know who you are, and I’m imagining busy hands at work changing the finish to a distressed white.  With the season coming to an end, the ten could probably be bought for less than $500.

antiquesKnow what this is?  I didn’t, but I thought it would be a very cool planter.  It’s actually a sitz bath, a very uncomfortable looking one!

antiques

So many things to like, but this was my only purchase.  No reason, I just liked it.  With a little rewiring, it could actually work so it is a project for the hubby.

antiquesThe next stop was a real trip. 

antiquesI’ve never seem so much stuff crammed into a space, and the owner knew exactly what she had and where it was.

antiquesI had to do a lot of looking to come up with these martini shakers, one an Art Deco piece.  We don’t shake a lot of drinks, but the shakers are a very fun thing to collect.

ElmersNext stop: Elmer’s,

elmers

a place where there is so much to see, it’s best not to be in a hurry!

Windsor DinerBy now, I’m getting a little hungry, and it was impossible to pass this place by without stopping.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWindsor DinerWindsor DinerMaine is full of similar roadside places, throwbacks to another era, serving simple, tasty food.  They are also great places to visit with real Mainers!

Saltbox PrimitivesAfter enjoying a pulled pork sandwich, my thought was to go on to Augusta without any more stops.  I almost made it, but on the outskirts was a irresistible shop, Saltbox Primitives.  

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIf farmhouse style is your thing, this is the place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANo sooner had I stepped on the porch than this cute thing caught my eye. This is an idea for any DIYer. 

FallSo, with all these stops, including ones to take in the beauty of freshly mown fields and fall color, did I make it to Target?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYep, and I was so excited to be there I came out with far more than was on my list.  The challenge is going to be where to put the dishes and flatware that jumped into my cart!

It’s been fun having you along…..hope you enjoyed the day.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Wow Us Wednesday

What’s It Wednesday

Table It

33 thoughts on “Destination: Target

  1. You look wonderful, even after all that shopping and driving! I enjoyed the trip ! Nice to have the time, we are blessed not to have to work aren’t we? My dh refers to my outings as marathons, minimum of 15 stores! I don’t too many of those any more, i get tired faster!
    Enjoy this beautiful weather, no color here yet, and no sweaters yet. It was almost 80 here today!

  2. Most of the time I was reading your post, I thought you were driving to Augusta, Georgia! But then you mentioned about eating with folks from Maine. Then my fourth grade memorizing of the state capitals kicked in and I remembered that Maine had an Augusta too! Thanks for taking us shopping with you! Maine is on my bucket list!

  3. Oh how I would have loved being along with you! Did you run out of gas and run the store for one of the shops while he went to get you gas? 🙂

  4. What a fun day! Those look like great shops! I love doing this sort of thing and luckily, hubby does, too. I could get lost in a phone booth so it’s nice to have him navigate! 🙂

    Jane xx

  5. What a great excursion to Target!….the only thing I come across on my way to Target is lots of woods and houses….I do not think I would have made it to Target with all those fabulous places to stop….and I love that each shop was different…and love that person who knew where everything was!….You looked very pleased with your Target purchases!!!…loved the beautiful scenery along the way!

  6. Lulu, what a fun adventure! Loved seeing all of the great places you stopped. That sits bath was super cool!! A few years ago my older sis gave me some of her tin toys. I have that exact train. Mine doesn’t work, never thought of trying to fix it. Just have it on display with my toy collection in the bonus room. Love to hear if you get yours working! Target can be a dangerous place. I don’t go there real often, but love it when I do!
    hugs,
    Jann

    • When I am in Houston, I take Target for granted, but here in Maine when one has to make an effort to go so it’s a really big deal. Amazing how different life can be in different places.

  7. I’d gladly shell out $500 for 10 chairs. Man, I could do a LOT with those!!! What a great thing to find such neat places along the way on a routine trip to Target! That’s the beauty of going by yourself…you feel free and unencumbered so you just explore with abandon!!!

  8. Wish I could have made that same trip with you!
    What fun!
    But wonder if there would have been enough room in the car to bring things home after shoppiing?

  9. Pingback: The Witch Is In! | Lulu's Musings

You make my day with your comments

