WPC: Gone But Not Forgotten


familyThis time of year I think of my family: Daddy, Mother, my brother.  Each one has passed away, Daddy and my brother too soon, Mother in old age after struggling with pneumonia and dementia.

familyThere is joy and sadness in remembering them, and how I wish I knew more of each one’s story.  Stories don’t always seem too important until it’s too late to capture them and the tellers are gone but not forgotten.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Weekly Photo Challenge

20 thoughts on “WPC: Gone But Not Forgotten

  1. Oh Linda,
    This is so relevant since my dear dad passed away just weeks ago. I felt we were close, yet there are so many things I wish I could ask him today.
    Also, this time of year we remember our sweet Linda B. who left us too early seven years ago. I miss her dearly.
    Therefore, I declare, I love you my dear friend. Every day is a gift.
    Nettie

  2. You’re not kidding, sister. We just don’t know how much we’ll miss those stories or how much of those stories we missed until they’re gone. Ramon was just lamenting that very thing a couple of days ago. I am spending more and more time with my Mom over the Christmas holidays and getting more and more stories from her. I thought I knew pretty much everything, but I’m finding out I didn’t! I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not!

  3. So true about the stories! The happy family times always cause that ping of sadness in my world during the holidays wishing my father could have known my children but they know him through the memories I share with them!

  4. Lulu, I share your sentiments. I love the pictures! There are so many things that I would love to ask my Mother! I have three dear friends who left way too young that I shared so much of my life with and now I feel as though that part is missing. I am so blessed to still have my Dad. Last week on Thanksgiving my son and nephew spent all morning asking him about the Korean War and how he met my Mother and they videoed the entire conversation. This will be priceless. Wishing you a joyous Christmas! Blessings, Pam

  5. Pingback: Steve: The Apple (Orange) of My Eye | Ramisa the Authoress

You make my day with your comments

