tablescapeStopping in to say hello to a friend, I noticed her dining table all set and commented that she must be expecting company for dinner.  “Oh no,” she said, “I just like for my table to look pretty.”  I loved that as it showed me a whole new side of her.

tablescapeSince I had my iPhone, I couldn’t resist doing a little deconstructing for photos and having her tell me how her table came together.  Colors were inspired by a table runner found at, of all places, Burlington Coat Factory.  Have you ever thought of looking there for table accessories?  Not me!

tablescapeIf I remember correctly, these very cute arrangements that provided her centerpiece also came from there.  I’m putting BCF on my list of places to scope out.

tablescapeNext she used gold placemats topped with red chargers from Michael’s so right to complement her runner.

tablescapeThen were added gold toned plates, both round and square, for a very appealing combination.

tablescapeTo finish her setting, she used amber stems and napkins gathered in a flower/olive topped ring.  If these go missing, she’s not to come looking at my house!

I’m betting her table will at some point welcome guests to dinner, but today it charmed me because I discovered a bit of my friend’s creative side.  I would love to know how you choose to show yours.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind.

Joining

Tablescape Thursday

Thursday Favorite Things

Share Your Cup Thursday

28 thoughts on “

  1. Lovely table; I agree with your friend. A set table looks so much better than an empty table in my opinion. Also, at our house, if it’s set we don’t use the empty table as a dumping ground for misc that migrates from our family room. Thanks for sharing!
    Cheers!
    Lori in Atlanta

  2. Hi, Linda! Yes, I have purchased lots of tabletop items at Burlington. I discovered it about 4 or 5 years ago. So much stuff! The pricing is usually pretty doggone good,too. They recently closed the one closest to our home, but I’m willing to make the drive to other locations within 15-20 miles of here. Your friend did a wonderful job with her tablescape, and I hope she is soon able to gather friends and family around to thoroughly enjoy it.

  3. Very pretty!! I have a neighbor that keeps her table set and she has all kinds of faux foods that she swaps about when she changes it up…it’s kind of creepy though because she never cooks and they go out to dinner every night!
    Jenna

    • Faux foods, now that is taking a set table to another dimension. I’m laughing to learn she doesn’t cook. Oh well, that seems to be the case with many of my friends, too.

  4. I think your friend’s table is lovely. At times, I’ve kept our table set, but usually not. Glad you pulled out the iPhone and took photos to share. ‘-)
    I’ve been absent from visiting so caught up this evening. Didn’t leave other comments, but enjoyed reading your thoughts on MLK, the Maine sea smoke, etc. Really amused about the wedding dress venue. Still chuckling!

  5. I had a hard time finding your comment box! I have been finding all kinds of pillows, napkins, tablecloths, artwork, everything home at BCF!!! There is one pretty close to me and I stop in there regularly. Love your friends table, the colors are so pretty and the napkin rings are perfect!!!

  6. That was so nice of you to take note of her table setting. I agree it seems like a great idea to set the table up just to be enjoyed. I don’t have a BFC store nearby but I’ll check one out next time I’m close to one. The flower pots are very cute!

  7. That’s a pretty table. Generally I’ll have a table cloth on our table that I change out every few weeks but I don’t set the table. Maybe some kind of centerpiece…

  8. What a pretty table – and no company expected! That runner is gorgeous, and she did a great job of pulling all of her colors from it. Those pots of grass with ribbon look great too.

You make my day with your comments

