A Different Pancake


Rockport Harbor/winterOver the years I’ve shared with you photos of Rockport Harbor in winter.  

Rockport Harbor/winterMy visits there during the cold season are just long enough to see ice gathered at the mouth of the harbor

Rockport Harbor/winterand ice floes finding their way out to Penobscot Bay. 

Rockport Harbor - sea smoke 508 MASTER

Courtesy of Peter Ralston

There is the occasional fascinating sea smoke

Rockport Harbor/winterand gulls and ducks holding conventions on the ice.

Courtesy of Mark Van Baalen

Courtesy of Mark Van Baalen

Never, however, have I seen anything like this.  As explained by my friend Mark who sent the photo today, this is “pancake ice” which occurs on the ocean when it gets really cold as it has been now for days. The formations are caused by the gentle rocking of the waves which agitates slush and forms rounded blobs with upturned edges.  He explains that this kind of action is far more common in the Arctic than in Rockport Harbor.

Isn’t it fascinating what nature can do?  As interesting as this sight must be, I think I’d rather be in the warmer climes of Houston!  I am grateful to Mark though for sharing this most interesting information.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

23 thoughts on “A Different Pancake

  1. Wow! Those Pancake Ice are unique and amazing! Nature is full of surprise. Beautiful and dramatic images of nature’s changes and landscape. The sea smoke image got my attention too. Breathtaking! Thanks.

  2. Oh, I am chilled just looking at these frigid pictures! I have never seen the ice shaped like the pancakes either. The sea smoke was gorgeous too, but I would rather see it in pictures! I am too cold blooded!!

  3. Very cool — no pun intended. Nature can be most creative. Last year, we experienced unique “snow rollers” — doughnut-like snow balls. Is Mother Nature hungry for breakfast? It’s some number-I-don’t-really-want-to-know below zero here. I read someone on Facebook said they weren’t going outside until the temperature was above their age.I’ll be here a while.

  4. I hope you’re not there in ME now, but rather enjoying warmer temps in Houston. Our river (Kanawha) has ice today, the first time this winter. These pictures you’re sharing and that phenomenon shouldn’t surprise, I suppose, given the conditions in the NE, but yes, they are amazing and I find them entirely fascinating (I just don’t want to be there right now!).

You make my day with your comments

