For the Birds!


birdhousesCan you tell I like birdhouses?  There are more than 20 sitting above the cabinets, each one different and most created by a talented artisan.  Every day I look at them and get a kick out of remembering the story that goes with each one.  

Now you’d think with so many fun and interesting shapes and sizes some of those birdhouses would have been used on the table.  Not so, but today that’s going to change!

birdhouse tableI just got these bird topped cloches and my daughter game me the little bird vases, and  they seemed perfect matches for the birdhouses.  Oh, this is going to be fun!

birdhouse tableSince it is spring, at least in Houston, these placemats and napkins from World Market were an easy choice.

birdhouse tableWith the pattern seeming so right for birds and birdhouses, I chose simple glass plates that allowed its boldness to show through.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYou’ll notice that once again the textured pink glasses make their way to the table.  When my friend gave these to me from her grandmother’s collection of glassware, she had no idea how often they would be used!  You just don’t see anything like them today which makes them all the more special.

birdhouse tableAll done, this table brings a great big smile to my face because it shows off some of my favorite things.  

Usually a table suggests a menu to me, but I’m having a little trouble with this one.  Bird seed doesn’t sound too appetizing, but what about something embellished with berries?  I better get to the kitchen and start studying some of those cookbooks!  If you have a suggestion, send it right on.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Centerpiece Wednesday

Tablescape Thursday

Favorite Things Thursday

14 thoughts on “For the Birds!

  1. Your table looks so beautiful! It is fun to decorate with our favorite things. I really like the pretty color in those glasses. I’m here from the Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop.

  2. Your creativity never rests.
    It’s amazing how you never just use white..maybe even use paper plates.
    You are so energetic and creative.

  3. Those placemats and napkins are beautiful, and I love your napkin fold. You would have thought that someone went out and bought all of these things just for this table. How perfect the bird topped cloches and the little bird vases are with your theme.

  4. I LOVE birdhouses, too! Thanks for sharing and for linking up to the Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop at Katherine’s Corner. Hope to catch up with you again this week at the hop! Nina @ Vintage Mama’s Cottage

You make my day with your comments

