To Market To Market


Let’s get right to first things first.  Being in Florence for a month means we need food so top priority is going to a market.

Mercato Centrale/marketFirst, I went to the big market, Mercato Centrale, which had dizzying arrays of everything

Mercato Centrale/marketfrom pasta to cheese to meat to olives to sweets to seafood to fresh produce.  I was too far from “home” to carry a load so my purchases were few.

Sant'Ambrogio/marketMuch closer, I discovered Mercato Sant’Ambrogio, not quite as fancy nor as touristy.  There I plunged right in.

marketWhile food was the calling card, how could I resist buying a wonderful leather bag for only $20E?  It’s for my daughter, but today it came in very handy as a carry bag.

marketNow on to the produce.  I actually came prepared with a list so I wouldn’t be tempted to buy everything in sight.

marketEven so, I couldn’t pass up these little artichokes.  Now if I can just figure out how to prepare them.  Any suggestions?

marketTrying to decide what cheese to buy is always a challenge, but after sampling this soft gorgonzola the decision got a whole lot easier.  That is one of the best cheeses I’ve ever tasted.

marketI don’t know how many euros I ended up spending, but I felt like the market was a lot less than shopping at Whole Foods and twice as much fun!

market/PhilThankfully, the hubby was with me or I would never gotten home with all my purchases. Would you believe those two humongous bunches of flowers were 5E? I’m in heaven!

vegetablesGetting home and putting everything out was just as much fun as the purchasing.  Isn’t this a beautiful still life?

I can’t wait to get into the kitchen and  start filling the apartment with tantalizing food smells.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

P.S.  It’s hard for me to keep up with your posts right now, but I look forward to catching up later.

16 thoughts on “To Market To Market

  1. You could create a cottage industry just by importing those great purses. (Of course, since you told us their cost, we will know your profit margin.)

  2. Love these markets!

    Your Professional Real Estate Friend,

    Terry J. Lovvorn, Associate Broker CRS,GRI,SRES,e-PRO Long & Foster REALTORS, INC. 5234 Monticello Ave., Ste. 110 Williamsburg,VA 23188 757-232-4249 Cell 888-221-0574 Fax Licensed in Virginia

    >

  3. ‘Twas fun going shopping with you….just wish I could be there to enjoy dinner with you. So glad you are having such a great time!!!

  4. Oh my goodness you are going to create some wonderful dishes. What a fantastic way to truly enjoy all that there is to experience. xo P.S. love that tote, and I know your daughter will too!!

  5. Wonderful markets, Lulu. That cheese looks so tasty, and I love the bag you bought for your daughter. I’m sure you made a delicious meal with those little artichokes. You must please share the recipe and how to prepare them. 🙂 Looks like you’re having lots of fun.

  6. Pingback: It Started With a Book | Lulu's Musings

You make my day with your comments

