Maine’s Hot Spots


Maine welcome signFolks come to Maine for many reasons.

islandMaybe it’s to relax

Heron, schooneror to experience a schooner cruise and take in the beautiful Maine coast

islandsor to enjoy the natural beauty of this unspoiled state.  Whatever draws visitors here, there are some places that are real hot spots.

Red’s Eats in Wiscasset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No matter the weather, there’s always a line at Red’s during the summer.  I’ve heard that its notoriety came from the attention it got after Robert Redford stopped there for a lobster roll some years ago.  Whatever the reason, Red’s is known far and wide and the crowds stop traffic making Wiscasset a very hard place to get through in July and August.

Moody’s Diner in Waldoboro

Moody's DinerMoody’s is a real throwback diner, and there’s never a time when the parking lot is not full.  The fare is simple but good, and some say the best blueberry pie in Maine comes from Moody’s.  That’s saying something because there are many tasty blueberry pies!

Dysart’s in Bangor

DysartsDysart’s is a combination truck stop, restaurant and gift shop that’s been around for a long time.  Like Moody’s the menu is simple down home cooking which may be its appeal.

L.L. Bean in Freeport

L L BeanIs there anyone who hasn’t heard of L.L. Bean?  Without question, this is one of the hottest spots in Maine.  

L L BeanWith such a huge mail order business, you might not expect the physical site to be very big.  Wrong!  It covers about two blocks and has everything you can imagine.

Want furnishings for your cabin or home or fishing/hunting  equipment or a pair of the famous Maine made L.L. Bean mud boots?

  It’s all there and then some and for the intrepid shopper, the store is open 24 hours every day but Christmas.  In addition to all the goods it has to offer, you can’t beat L.L. Bean for customer service.

Maine is full of backroads and traveling them, you never know when or where you’ll come across an interesting place to stop.  I try not to miss any of them, but I have to be driving to make that happen!

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

18 thoughts on “Maine’s Hot Spots

  1. Spent every Sumer at Little Sebago. Picking wild blueberries, using salt to get the leeches off, ivory soap with the sand scrub imbedded, best memories EVER! Camp has a very special meaning!

  2. Pingback: Why Maine? : The Christmas Blog

  3. Maine is on my bucket list. I would like to combine it with going North into the eastern part of Canada, too. I wonder why I’m hungry now???

  4. I have always wanted to visit Maine! I am a very reluctant flyer so thought I would never get there. I am getting on a plane in a few weeks to go all the way to DC so maybe I’ll get to Maine one of these days too. I enjoyed your photos. I can’t get over L.L.Bean! Love that store.

  5. lulu,
    I’ve never heard of the L.L.Bean shop, but a shop that covers two acres? My eyes almost popped out of my head at the thought. Wow. Yes I know that Dutch shops are teeny tiny compared with North America but wow, wow, wow!
    It definitely sounds like a shop I would have lots of fun browsing in! (and a full free day I the shop is this big LOL.

    • LL Bean is amazing and is known all over the world for being a go to place for all kinds of outdoor wares. In addition, it has all kinds of other things making it a one stop shop. The bonus is excellent customer service.

You make my day with your comments

