What Was I Thinking?


Chef MichaelI have had many a meal created by my favorite chef, Michael Salmon known for his culinary skills at the Hartstone Inn in Camden, Maine, and for his extraordinary Foodie Adventures in Italy, France and Spain.  So, what was I thinking when I said to his wife, who happens to be a good friend, “Why don’t you come for dinner?”

After extending the invitation, I fretted for a bit over the menu and then decided it made no sense to try to outdo the chef!  It would be best to stick with something I knew how to do and that isn’t common in Maine.  The decision….TexMex!

tablescapeTexMex and bright colors are a natural combination so the table was a no brainer.  Sunflowers in orange bottles and a smattering of pumpkins sitting on a colorful cloth made for an easy centerpiece.

tablescapeAs luck would have it, these plates were at the new Dollar Tree, where I stopped for no reason, and matched the colors in the cloth to a tee. Eight plates for $8 is a pretty good deal!

tablescapeAdd to those napkins gathered in what are meant to be wine glass identifiers 

tablescapeand a warm, inviting table is set in just minutes.

As for the menu, nothing fancy.  We will have mounds of beef and chicken fajitas with all the trimmings…sauteed onions and peppers, guacamole, pico de gallo, cheese, sour cream…and  barracho beans seasoned with onions and cumin.  Oh man, I can’t wait!

watermelon margaritaWhile the hubby grills the meat, we’ll enjoy ceviche and homemade chips with a watermelon margarita on the porch.  If you’ve not tried it, watermelon is a super addition to a margarita.

Tres LechesTo finish it all off, there will be Tres Leches Cake, and I have to confess, I make a killer one for which I will even share the recipe.

Tres Leches Cake

1 ½ c. flour

2 tsps. baking powder

4 eggs, separated

1 ½ c. sugar

½ c. milk

Preheat oven to 350. Grease & flour 13×9 inch pan.  Mix flour and baking powder.  In large bowl, beat egg whites until fluffy.  Add sugar gradually, beating to form stiff peaks.  Add yolks, one at a time. Fold in flour mixture and milk; mix well but don’t beat.  Pour batter into prepared pan and bake 30-35 minutes, or til edges are golden brown. Remove from oven; let cake cool.  Pour 3 milk topping over cake and let sit til mixture is absorbed (20 minutes or so).

Prepare whipped cream topping and refrigerate.  Before serving, cover top and sides of cake.

THREE MILK TOPPING

1 12 oz. Can evaporated milk, 1 14 oz. Can condensed milk, 1 cup each milk and sour cream.

Combine….do not beat.  Pour over slightly cooled cake.

2 c. whipping cream

1 tbsp. Sugar

1 tsp. Vanilla or almond extract

Beat cream; gradually add sugar and vanilla and beat til firm.  Spread the whipped cream over the top of the cake and refrigerate.   By the way, I usually make the cake several hours in advance to ensure all its yummy goodness.

When all was said and done, the meal was a great success and nary a bite was left because everyone had seconds.  Chef Michael may have enjoyed the vittles as much as anyone, maybe because someone else did the cooking.  What do you think?

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Share Your Cup Thursday

Full Plate Thursday

Thursday Favorite Things

Tablescape Thursday

Foodie Friday

23 thoughts on “What Was I Thinking?

  1. Of course Chef Michael enjoyed it the most! What a treat for him to have someone else doing the cooking!!! Sounds like everything was deelish!!!! Heading to DC on Friday! Sorry to miss you this summer! Here’s to next year!

  2. Did this ever bring back memories? Remember the night we invited Sonny Look to dinner at the 3 Fountains? At first, I was nervous, but realized you had everything under control, and he thoroughly enjoyed himself! You are amazing!

  3. What a treat for all to enjoy! The dinner menu sounds outstanding. I think I may try that cake- it’s a very different recipe with a scrumptious combination..

  4. Good for you for inviting the chef for dinner and cooking for him. I bet he enjoyed sitting and letting someone else do the cookin! Your menu sounded just right!

  5. What an amazing evening Linda! Thank you for making us feel so special and every bite was delicious! You know I don’t cook, but I will be finding an occasion to re-create the delicious cake! We are so lucky to have friends like you and Phil!

  6. I thought those plates looked familiar!

    By the way, you’ve been chosen as one of today’s nine blogs in That’s So Jacob’s Ninth Month Blog Challenge (http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com)! I challenge you to find nine blogs you find interesting and give them a comment to brighten their day…well, eight other blogs and mine 🙂 Copy this message in your comment and enjoy your new blog friends!

  7. Oh Linda, I soooo know how you felt, but you know what? Chefs lament that they never get asked to dinner at someone’s house because people are intimidated, but they truly don’t care about fancy food. What you did was perfect in every way. You kept in casual, colorful and classy, and I have no doubt he enjoyed everything thoroughly.

    My hubby adores tre leche cake, so I’m pinning this recipe!

    Thank you so much for visiting and commenting on my cabin tour. I appreciate it!

    • It just occurred to me that your posts have not been coming to my email. I’m now caught up with all I’ve missed and as always love your as cervix wit and incredible photos. You are my inspiration for trying to improve my food shots.

  8. I bet he loved someone else cooking for a change! The meal sounds delicious. We love fajaitas! I love tres leche! Can’t wait to try your recipe! Thanks for sharing with SYC. Sorry, I visited the wrong post at first.
    hugs,
    Jann

You make my day with your comments

