Cheering Them On


I was pretty fast at one time, but when I no longer had to run that was it.  That being said, I do feel compelled each year to walk down the street to cheer on the thousands of marathoners who pass through the neighborhood.  They are all ages, shapes and sizes who brave whatever weather to participate in the Houston Marathon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis 45 degree morning I was on the curb before 8:00 thinking I would see the first runners through. No such luck.  They beat me by almost 15 minutes.    One by one, group by group, the elite runners were followed by young people, trim and in better shape than I will ever be again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs the race goes on, the mass of runners increases, and the look begins to change.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not all are young,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand some are physically impaired and make the trek with a guide.

Some smile and say thanks as they pass by

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAwhile others spot a friend or spouse to whom they stop and say hello.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs he passed in front of me, this fella, a doctor, had to stop for a call.  I couldn’t help but wonder if it would keep him from finishing.

Some runners exhibit  a sense of fun to go along with their determination

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand these marines drew a cheer as they passed by.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOn the curb, some watchers were ready with their phone to snap a photo of someone they knew

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand a group of your g boys cheered every passing runner.  One day I might be cheering them on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAll in all, the marathon is a study of people who for whatever reason accept the challenge of running it.  For some, like the Ethiopians who finished first, it means money, but for most the satisfaction is in the doing, and I am happy to cheer them on until my voice is no more than a croak.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

12 thoughts on “Cheering Them On

  1. Way back before kids I ran the Marine Corp. Marathon in Washington. Such a great experience and like you, one I will never experience again as running is no longer fun for me! Thanks for sharing the pictures of all the great runners!!

  2. Linda, great photos! I have been a runner but never for distance just for health! My husband ran a marathon the year he turned 49…just a goal he set and he hasn’t run another since…but he runs 4-5 miles 5 days a week! I admire the discipline involved to train and run! Kudos to all of them!

You make my day with your comments

