Over and Done!


Christmas is over and done, and I have to confess to that being a relief.  In the days leading up to the holiday, I have to fight off being blue.

FamilyIt makes me sad that our small family,  which now includes sons-in-law and grandchildren, is rarely all together during the holiday season.

9780740784323_p0_v1_s192x300I miss reading The Night Before Christmas to kids

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand leaving cookies and milk for Santa.

I experience sadness remembering the people who are part of Christmases past and wish that I weren’t the only member of my original family still here.

But enough of that.   Today is a new day and with it the blues disappear.

HoustonI will enjoy time in Houston while awaiting the return to Maine

Roque Island, Mainewhere there is boating, exploring islands and spending time with family and friends.

lobsterWithout question I will eat more lobster!

Most of all, I plan to live each day to the fullest, to be grateful for what good health allows me to do, and to give lots of hugs!  That should get me through the months until next Christmas when I’ll probably again feel a little blue.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

14 thoughts on “Over and Done!

  1. Mike and I stood on the driveway as Jason left for the airport. We both miss them but have visits this summer to look forward to!

  2. Yes it is a time we especially miss our loved ones who are gone. It is sad you don’t spend Cmas with your children and grandchildren. Mine are 90 min away so we go to them. My sister ‘s are spread out but she does a lot of traveling to make sure she spends time with all of them during the holidays. Thank goodness she and her husband are in good health to do that. My dh can’t travel. Mine leave to ski in VT for a week so I am glad we got to see them Christmas. It’s all about the kids! Happy 2017!

  3. Even with my kids still being young (14 and 12) last year my son stopped believing and this year was a blue feeling Christmas for me not having to hide presents. It was a very strange and new experience that I did not like! But as you said, today is a new day and hopefully during the coming year, I learn how to deal with that whole kids are growing up thing better for next year!

    • You may learn to deal with it, Tina, but that doesn’t mean you will like what you have to give up as the kids mature. Even when my daughters stopped believing in Santa I encouraged them to believe in the spirit which has much to do with giving.

  4. Completely agree with you. My mother has had a difficult year (recovering from stroke). She was definitely looking forward to Christmas–many weeks in advance. She wanted specific gifts and was even reminiscing daily about favorite foods from a bygone past. My mother is indeed recovering well…but I know she wants the process to move along faster. Christmas memories were giving her a boost of sorts–something to look forward to instead of focusing on her day to day recovery. Christmas for my mother is absolutely all about being with family–old and new! But for me–particularly this Christmas, with so many changes in our family– I am realizing the most important Christmas lesson is accepting those changes and embracing the new.
    Happiest of New Years to you and your lovely family!

You make my day with your comments

