A Flurry of Energy


After years of things piling up in his study, the hubby got bit by a flurry of energy.  For two days he went through every drawer and shelf carefully sorting the necessary from the unnecessary.  Five garbage bags later he was done, and his space is so organized it’s barely recognizable!

His energy was contagious and inspired me to attack the screen porch which this time of year is pollen laden.  I gathered broom, mop and bucket and set to work sneezing my way through the cleaning process.

Some time ago, an old table and chairs was replaced with a new set.  While the black was OK with the other furniture, it struck me that it all might look better the same color, so off to Home Depot for some black spray paint.

With the porch all clean, the furniture painted and back in place, and the hubby’s study all sparkling clean it was cause for celebration!

Luckily, it was one of those Houston evenings perfect for a simple dinner on the porch.  Simple because we were worn out by our efforts!

Simple also describes the table set with hand made pottery consistent in color but with funky shapes and pattern that make each piece unique.

The glasses, too, are offbeat with indentions at just the right spots for fingers and thumb.  I always wonder if that was intentional or a happy accident.

The napkins were an unconscious choice, but when I put them on the table I had a flashback.   They and matching placemats were an early project on my first floor loom. That means they go back about 30 years and they haven’t faded one bit despite many washings.  I can’t say the same for my store bought napkins!

Surrounded by nothing but bird song, gentle breeze and the sound of water trickling from the fountain, our tired bodies enjoyed a relaxed evening on the porch patting ourselves on the back for our flurry of energy.  Now we’ll see how long we maintain such order!

Joining

Share Your Cup

Tablescape Thursday

33 thoughts on “A Flurry of Energy

  1. Oh, could you PLEASE send whatever bug that bit your husband this way so I can unleash it on mine!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My husband is (like many doctors I know) a super clutter bug! Drives me wild with confusion and anxiety! Our garage is like a very scary episode of “Hoarders”. 😱😱😱

  2. Oh I love your porch….and I spy a beautiful fountain!….That dinnerware is beautiful and those glasses are beautiful, unique and sounds like very pleasing just to hold! The pollen is the part of Spring I hate, but then again….out of the pollen rises the beautiful flowers!

  3. Your newly redecorated porch looks very inviting—–a good clean-out, toss-out, is very refreshing, isn’t it !!!!!

  4. Hi! It’s been a long time. I love the hand made pottery. Makes me want to uncover my slab roller and fire up my kiln. I’ve been wanting to introduce Beatrice to clay making, and you’ve inspired me a bit. It’s been a long time for that, too. Thanks for inviting us for a peek. Cherry Kay

  5. I adore those plates!! Wish I could get my hands on them! As for the energy, I get that very rarely but when I do, I always find I get about halfway through a room and then feel so tired and overwhelmed that I just end up watching tv haha!

  6. Now that is the kind of bug we don’t mind getting bitten by…it usually happens each spring. Maybe that is how “spring fever” came about.

  7. It always feels so good when you tackle jobs like this! The screened porch looks great and I love the unique dishes! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

You make my day with your comments

