The Same Things Different


Two years ago, shortly after introducing Lulu’s Musings, I published my first online tablescape.    While I haven’t posted one each week since then, I have managed one every other week.  Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t have enough “stuff” to have a table with all new items each time, so what I do is recreate using the same pieces differently.

Take this girls’ birthday lunch table, for example.  I liked having the old decanters sitting on the antique brass trivets, so when it came time to host a dinner party I left them in place and added something new.

Candleholders were switched and  a piece of handwoven cloth from Morocco was draped through and between the trivet legs.

Orange and brown jumped out, and luckily there were dishes and linens in the cabinet that  complemented those tones.

Napkins  tied with a piece of fiber left from a recent weaving project

and orange tinted goblets completed the table for a new look,

one that added drama to an evening gathering.

For dinner, the main course was inspired by Karen at Back Road Journal. She posted a recipe for pot roast cooked ossobuco style and served on soft polenta.  I love ossobuco and the idea of using pot roast rather that the much more expensive veal shanks was intriguing.  I used Karen’s recipe and added 2 large red peppers cut into strips.  Additionally, I prepared the dish in the Cuisinart slow cooker which resulted in the tenderest of meat and filled the house with irresistible cooking smells.  If you want to wow your guests, do click on Karen’s site and give this recipe a try.  Be sure you have plenty of crusty bread to soak up every last bit of the yummy sauce.

i love your thoughts, so jump right in and share yours

Joining Susan and fellow tablescapers at Tablescape Thursday and Katherine’s blog hop

23 responses to “The Same Things Different”

  1. beautiful and happy birthday, love the purple napkins! Thank you for linking up to the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop xo P.S. I posted the new giveaway at Katherines Corner today 🙂

    1. thank you for sharing at the hop xo

  2. Hi Linda~ So funny we both posted about reusing pieces at the table in different ways! That’s the fun of tablescaping I think. Your dinner sounds delicious~ there is nothing better that the aroma that greets you from all those flavors marrying in the slow cooker after you come home!

  3. Linda, I actually could taste your dish from your picture and description like what I image it to be. It was wonderful. I am in awe that you do a tablescape so often! You know I have at the moment 1000 blog posts to read in my google reader! I always read the ones first that come through email. I know the number must stop at 1000 because I have been out of town and it has to be higher! There is no way I can read that many! But….. I would like to if I could stop time and catch up!

    Hope your weekend is special!

  4. I love your table. No matter how many dishes you have, you have to reuse them in different scapes. You want to. You want to get as much use as possible out of each and every dish you own.

    – The Tablescaper

  5. I really like the way the napkins are arranged. The green decanter is also pretty.

    Stopping by from Katherines Favorite Things Thursday..

  6. I like it. You have some nice things there.

  7. I agree…I don’t have all the stuff either. I love all the colors and how you reused what you own. I love the dishes….Hope you have a great weekend!
    Blessings My Friend,

  8. Your tablescape ios very pretty, I alove all the warm colors, And the entree looks delicious…Christine

  9. I love all the colors in this tablescape! I don’t have have enough “stuff” to do a different setting each week either so I really have to mix and match and re-use items creatively.

    Thank You for sharing and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Aledia

  10. Your talent to mix and match is a gift! I love this table for the colors and the textures. It’s so pretty. I also think the recipe would be great.. xo marlis

  11. I am with you – today’s table used the same dishes but the glassware changed out!
    I love the deep rich colors that the linens bring to your table to complement the dishes. What pretty dishes they are.

    I am definitely going to have to try your dish. The soft polenta looks melt in your mouth as does the meat. What a fun get together.

  12. I love your tablescapes. I truly think it’s an art form in many ways.

    This meal looks delicious!

    1. Thanks Rose. I share with you the notion that it is a kind of art form in that it simply allows one to express creativity. Your BF would like the recipe I bet.

  13. Your tablescape is so beautiful and I love the plates. I have brass trivets that remind me of yours but not as tall. I glad that you enjoyed the recipe and thank you for mentioning my blog.

    1. You are welcome….I’ve even corrected the link so it goes right to the recipe.

  14. I have a lot, but I use things over and over, who doesn’t???
    Your table looks great, very colorful, kind of southwestern. Very comfortable!

    Of course we don’t celebrate Texas Day! But in NY, St. Patrick’s Day is big. Cinco de Mayo , not so much, but both of them try to lure people into bars! I saw a poster for Corona beer once. A Mexican in a sombrero with some green on that said, Viva St. Pat’s! I would love to have that poster to give my Irish born bil!

    That link didn’t work for me, it says it doesn’t exist.

    1. I’ll keep my eye open for such a St. Pat’s sign. Try the link again. I just tried and went right to it.

  15. It’s no secret that I have a ton of stuff. If you look closely, though, you notice that I often use the same pieces over and over and over again. There are “favorites” that just look good with so much that I can’t help myself! For me it’s more about quality and utility than quantity…it just so happens that I’m able to find quality in a lot of stuff! 😉 You do a fantastic job of mixing, matching and making items look fresh each time you set the table. It’s in your DNA, sister! I have never had ossobuco because I’m not fond of veal, but I think I would definitely try it prepared like this It looks delish!!!!!! I just ate popcorn for dinner, so this is really tempting me right now! 🙂

    1. Popcorn! I hope it had caramel in it. You would like this recipe, and it’s pretty easy to prepare. There wasn’t a morsel left which is always a good sign.

  16. Your table is always beautiful…I too “mix and match’ many things…You may see a centerpiece on my dining table one day, and on a end table the next…I gather things throughout my home and they land on the dining room table…

    The recipe looks wonderful..will have to pop over and check it out!! Have a great weekend!!

    1. Mixing and matching gives you a lot of extra mileage with what you have.

You make my day with your comments