Making it My Style


Maine bedroom“Mom, this room is so not you!”  So said the daughters when they first glimpsed my bedroom.  Their comment was likely in response to curtains, ruffles and gingham check, none of which is typically my style.   This time, however, I wanted a room that reflected the warmth of summer color and warmed a frosty landscape in winter.

Maine bedroomYou may not believe this, but the flowers reminded me of Georgia O’Keeffe, not because they are her style but because they are big and bold much like summer blooms in Maine.  I got very carried away with the idea of flowers and glued artificial ones on the lampshades which were then trimmed with decorative braid.

Maine bedroomFor the bases I found flower buckets at World Market. The hubby drilled a hole in the bottom through which the electrical wire is run.  The hardware for the lamp was gotten from a lighting store where I told a helpful salesperson what I was doing and he provided me with all the right parts.  Finished, the lamp is placed on a little pedestal which allows it to sit more level.

Maine bedroomIf you’ve read many of my posts, you know that for me things don’t have to match as evidenced by the side tables.

Maine bedroom I got them because I liked their details.  They were a little beat up, but spray paint and sand paper fixed them well enough.

Maine bedroomThe same is true for the used-to-be china cabinet, now used for extra storage,

Maine bedroomand the rattan magazine rack.

Actually, putting this bedroom together turned out to be great fun.  You might say this is a do it yourself project as most of the furniture except for the Maine Cottage headboard required a little TLC.  Though I would like to take credit for all the sewing, all I am responsible for is the dust ruffle.

Maine bedroomAnd, you know what, the room is now my style!

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Sharing with

Metamorphosis Monday

Open House Party

Wow Us Wednesday

Transformed Tuesday

Saturday Show-licious

26 responses to “Making it My Style”

  1. I still love it and I’m featuring you later tonight on Transformed Tuesday. We can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to this week. Hugs, Peggy

  2. Your room is beautiful, I love the colors and what a clever idea for a lamp! Thank you for sharing it at SHOW-licious Craft Showcase!

    Happy New Year,
    Marti

  3. This reminds me of my top floor that I call my Princess Suite, except trade the yellow for pink. I LOVE this!

  4. Hi Linda, I’m visiting from Wow Us Wednesday. You totally achieved the warm, sunny look your were after. It is a very cheerful and pretty room. Great job. You should come by and link up at Transformed Tuesday the party is still going strong and I know my readers would love to see your room. http://pjhdesignsoneofakind.blogspot.com/2013/01/transformed-tuesday-20-and-features.html Hugs, Peggy

    1. Thank you, Peggy, for stopping by with your kind comment. I am delighted to be part of your party.

  5. nutsfortreasure Avatar
    nutsfortreasure

    Very pretty if gardening and photography do not take too much of my time come spring I hope to change this place around completely 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your world
    Eunice

  6. So bright and cheery! The little chairs hung on the wall is such a fun and different look!

  7. I love your blooming lamps Linda! So clever and cheery married with your yellow gingham! I love the details on your white painted tables too 🙂

    1. If nothing else, the room is a fun and happy place to be as well as an opportunity to find a different me.

  8. you really are inspiring, so inventive and clever. it must be a delight to wake up there!

    1. You know what, Claire, it is. Even the hubby feels it’s a good space.

  9. Just read your about page.. Maine, indeed! And you live in the exact town we are visiting. What are the odds? Could I drop you a line? Looking for restaurant recommendations and more…

  10. Loving what you did here, Lulu. Beautiful! Btw, are you located in Maine? My boyfriend and I are taking a trip there this May, and I wanted to get some tips.

  11. I think it is just like you! Brave and outspoken, cheerful and bright! It may not look like other rooms you have done, but that is the beauty of it, it is a side of you that isn’t always apparent but is always there to surprise 🙂

    1. Thank you, Pam. We don’t want to be too predictable, do we?

  12. If you did it…it is your style only different. It is so much like the colors in our cottage in Maine. When I was ordering furniture from Maine Cottage, I kept telling the designer I was afraid of color but I did it and I’m glad. It adds to much fun!

    1. Too bad Maine Cottage is no more as they had some really fun and cheerful pieces.

      1. I was sorry when they went out of business…their fabrics were wonderful too.

  13. One of the things that is so refreshing about you, Linda, is that there is no such thing as ‘you’ or ‘not you.’ You are always a wonderful surprise!

    1. Maybe we just don’t know who “you” is!

  14. I love it. I especially like the way you’ve tilted the left night stand and when you look at the night lamp shades they coordinate, but the flower pattern is not an exact match. I think the headboard was worth all of the TLC it required. Bravo!

    1. As different as this is for me, I feel a little bounce every time I enter this room. It’s not just the room though, it’s the whole picture.

  15. Not my style, but it certainly brightens up the room!

    1. Sometimes we just have to challenge ourselves to find another “me”!

  16. Love it, Linda!

    1. Thank you, Lin. It’s gonna have to work for a while because there’s a lot of curtain there!

You make my day with your comments