Last Stop: Saigon


SaigonWith its crowds, noise, tall buildings and traffic, Saigon is a version of any big city.  There are familiar franchises like Pizza Hut, Baskin Robbins and KFC as well as upscale designer shops.

SaigonThese, however, are not my cup of tea.  It is much more fun to explore local markets to find special treasures

Saigonand to have one, or maybe two, fruit smoothies.  Sure wish I knew what the magic of those drinks is!

SaigonIf shopping isn’t your thing, there are plenty of other sites to see.  The Reunification Palace is interesting as is the Post Office with its beautiful French inspired architecture and Notre Dame with its towering steeples.  Ho Chi Mihn sits in a restful garden near the lovely opera house.

Saigon
War Remnants Museum

The War Remnants Museum draws many visitors, however, in view of its very one sided presentation of a war many of us Americans didn’t like and that represented lost friends, it’s a little hard to take.  A few minutes and I was out of there.  Enough said!

SaigonThe best thing about Saigon was getting to meet Jeanne who writes Collage of Life which was one of my first introductions to the world of blogs. We spent a delightful morning peeking into some of her favorite places and trying to crowd much conversation into a short period of time.  Isn’t it amazing what doors open through our blogs?

Saigon is the last stop for us on this incredible journey and you know what, I think it’s time to think about going home.  I am so glad we shared the adventure together.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

20 responses to “Last Stop: Saigon”

  1. It sounds and looks like you had a remarkable holiday or rather journey. and yes that photo of you with the two smoothies is a scream! I reckon it’s the super fresh fruit that makes them so tasty.
    And isn’t the blogging world a marvellous place – doors open and friends are made.
    Wishing you a safe return trip x

  2. Welcome home from a remarkable journey with your Sisterhood. Memories to last you a lifetime…thanks for sharing the trip with us.

    1. Hey, I might even have a couple of recipes to share before it’s all over!

      1. I’ll be looking forward to that.

  3. It’s been an amazing adventure, and I’m thrilled to have a peak at this land that separated me from my husband for too long, many years ago. I would definitely have to go with girlfriends. Sweet Mister would never step foot there again. The photos are magical! Thanks. Cherry Kay

    1. Your hubby is not the only man of his generation who would not return to Vietnam, too many memories. If you can get past that, it is a fascinating country.

  4. Incredible trip. Thank you for sharing your adventures with us. You had very cute clothes for your trip. Can you tell what I think about?

    1. Cute….maybe. Practical and comfy….definitely.

  5. Marty@A Stroll Thru Life Avatar
    Marty@A Stroll Thru Life

    Been reading trying to catch up on the whole trip, wow, what an experience. Great posts and wonderful pictures. Hugs, Marty

    1. Quite an experience indeed. Glad to have you along for the journey.

  6. What a marvelous journey you have had! I so enjoyed this voyage with you. I especially enjoyed your insights into the people as you traveled and your candid photos. Linda, thank you so much for taking us along with you. The faces in your last post continue to surface in my mind. What excitement you must have had and the foods, smells and marvelous people along the way. Thank you again for taking us along!

    1. Your comments have made it seem you were right there with me. Thanks!

  7. Juliette Triozon Avatar
    Juliette Triozon

    Wow, what a trip and adventure! I enjoyed your blog very much, your insights and thoughts.
    I will not recognize Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City) it used to be such a lovely and quaint city (from my childhood, I was born there in 1952 and left in 1968), when I went back several times, I got more and more disappointed, because of the crowds, noise and pollution, but as you mentioned, there are a few places to visit. Now, I feel like I must go back again, but I’ll avoid staying too long in Saigon. Thanks again for sharing the beautiful shots you have taken along the way! Have a safe trip back! (-: Juliette

    1. While Saigon merits a looksee, there is much more to see that, in my opinion, is more interesting.

  8. Oh no! Your journey has come to an end! Please start again.. I’ve so enjoyed ‘tagging’ along with you Linda.. thanks for the effort you’ve taken with your trip journal – such great pics.. Lovely to see you and Jeanne together in Saigon.. aah.. the joys in the journeys of life! Priceless gifts for sure! Happy planning your next trip.. cheers x j

    1. Thanks to you for helping make this a most special adventure!

  9. Loved reading along Linda and was so happy that we had a chance to meet. I only wish we had all day, I have a feeling we could have gone on for days. So glad the Travelling Sisterhood had a wonderful time…I knew you would. Best wishes..

    Jeanne xx

    PS..the blog link above does not seem to be working…I will try again.
    http://www.collageoflife-henrqs.blogspot.com

    I have to do something about shortening that one day!

    1. Days, indeed. Wish we could be so lucky. Try the link again as it seems to be working at this end.

  10. “If shopping is not your thing…” Say WHAT?!??!?!?!!! My eyes are burning! My eyes are burning!!! 🙂

    So you have a blog friend who actually lives in Saigon? How cool is that?!??! Wow! I’ll bet that was a blast to meet her!

    Your trip has been a trip! 🙂 Thank you SO much for sharing bits & pieces of your incredible adventure along the way. You have truly embraced an exchange of culture in its highest form, and I bow to you. Welcome back!

    1. You would have found many more items to put in your storage closet!

You make my day with your comments