Down on the Farm


dairy farmNow, I’m not a farm girl, but in the last three weeks I’ve been on a dairy farm,

French goat farma goat farm

Tennessee farmand my daughter’s farm.  It still surprises me that she and her family gave up city life to move to Tennessee country, but the hard work they’ve done in 10 months to get the place spiffed up seems to be agreeing with them.

FranklinLast time here, the landscape was wintry and a new fence was being installed.

FranklinNow the property is alive with spring color and the fence is newly painted in the area’s color of choice.

FranklinBig Anatolian shepherds roam the property keeping  predators away.  After hearing what they can do to a thick shelled armadillo or a coyote, you know it’s best not to be where you don’t belong.

FranklinDucks

Franklinand chickens also are home on the farm, and they have had their problems.  A couple of the ducks have been handled a little too roughly by the dogs or carried away by uninvited guests, and some chickens are being lost to an invasive virus.  Nobody said life on a farm was easy!

FranklinThe daughter is happy to be a farm girl spending time at the barn with the animals,

Franklinand the son-in-law loves the outdoor work that requires him to be on his tractor.

FranklinYou can tell life has changed.  City attire has given way to work clothes

FranklinFranklinFranklinand instead of stylish footwear, boots of some kind are outside every door.

Yep, it’s a life change and a farm is not a sometime thing.  There’s something to do every day, and not all of the work is easy, but for this family the reward is looking out over open spaces and knowing they’ve made a good decision.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Share It

Make It Pretty Monday

Inspire Me Tuesday

Wow Us Wednesday

Open House Party

Oh The Places I’ve Been

46 responses to “Down on the Farm”

  1. Oh my goodness, Lulu..this is absolutely beautiful..like a pastoral painting of the Old Masters….I can most surely understand the decision to move to the farm….I love the dirt and animals and taking care of it all…wish I had a small farm too…love this post…hope we get to see more pictures…
    Love, Mona

  2. I missed the outside view of their house when I scrolled through this post before. It is beautiful. You can tell country life agrees with all of them.

    1. Yep, Bonnie, for now all are very happy. As for the house, they’ve worked wonders with it since they’ve been there.

  3. That place looks like a dream farm 🙂 The dogs are a breed that I’ve never heard of…they are quite handsome!

    1. You are right about the Anatolians being handsome. They are great looking dogs.

  4. Thanks for giving us a tour of the farm. Our daughter and her husband want to do the same thing once his tour of duty is through in the military. She was a city girl through and through but now she’s this amazing pioneer woman! I think we must have raised them right to value the hard work it takes to do this!

  5. And a lovely home, to boot. A beautiful piece of property; I like to thought of the choices that they have made. Thanks for taking us along for a visit. Cherry Kay

  6. Your daughter and husband will probably live longer with a less stressful go go go life even though they have to work hard, they maid a good decision.

    1. I think they would agree with you that they have made a decision right for them.

  7. Beautiful country and home. Wonderful post.

  8. Wow! What a wonderful lifestyle! The farm looks gorgeous, and I love your photos!

  9. It looks like farm life agrees with your daughter and son-in-law.
    Good for them!
    I really enjoyed your post and am looking forward to reading more of your blog. ~Delores

    1. Thank you, Delores, for your visit and comment. You are right when you say the new life agrees with the daughter and her family.

  10. What a beautiful spot, it is so interesting that they choose a hard but simpler life~how proud you must be to have such an independent and brave daughter! What a wonderful place to visit, your photos are fabulous.
    Jenna

    1. Jenna, it is an incredibly beautiful area the daughter and her family have chosen to call home. You are absolutely right when you guess it was a brave decision to give up what was familiar and comfortable to choose a completely new life.

  11. nutsfortreasure Avatar
    nutsfortreasure

    Looks like this place is full of LOVE

    1. Emile, I think you are right.

      1. nutsfortreasure Avatar
        nutsfortreasure

        🙂

      2. I do believe I mistyped your name on my response to you. I’ll do better!

      3. nutsfortreasure Avatar
        nutsfortreasure

        lol I go bu Uni so how far off were you lol

  12. That is a serious farm. If you knew how tiny the farms are in our little hamlet, you’d laugh. Those dogs look beautiful, but I’m very happy they’re in Tennessee and not here:)

    1. In this area of Tennessee, the farms are large. Most are very impressive horse farms which are beautiful.

  13. I love reading about your daughter’s adventures on the farm. It wasn’t easy but it seems she has adapted to rural like and all of the challenges. You raised a wonderful girl!

    XO,
    Jane

    1. Jane, as always, I so appreciate your comment. In this case, I don’t know that I have anything to do with the daughter’s decision to live this life, but I am glad it’s agreeing with her.

  14. That is amazing! You must be so proud of them. Isn’t there a truffle farm in Tennessee? I believe they have and Italian breed of dogs – Lagotto Romagnolo – known for their ability to hunt for the tasty funghi.

    I am a huge fan of goat cheese these days. I hope my sisters and I have a chance to visit a goat cheese farm in Washington state when we visit my younger sister in July.

    1. Lynn, I don’t know about a truffle farm, but that’s something to find out about.
      What surprised me about the goat farm was tasting the cheese. There’s a considerable difference between the newest and aged cheese.

  15. Oh my what a fabulous farm and they look like they love it. How fabulous for them. Thanks tons for joining Inspire Me. Hugs, Marty

    1. My pleasure, Marty, and I appreciate your comment.

  16. Your daughter and her family and Farm is wondrous…….and I understand the hard work….but at the end of the day..you look back and see your beautiful home…..very much worth every drop of perspiration!!!!!!! Kitt

    1. Yes, Kitt, they seem to think the hard work is worth it. Let’s hope it continues.

  17. I love seeing your happy family. Glad you got to visit. You should keep up with the miles you travel for fun.

    My comment on your last post would never go. Strange sometimes. Have a great holiday weekend.

    1. The place they have chosen is a lovely place to visit, and we are happy to see them enjoying the change.

  18. This is definitely the bravest thing I’ve ever done…since as you know, doing something different and unexpected has never been my cup of tea! But here we are! I’m thankful to have your support now. I know it was hard to give in the beginning. And believe me, it was hard to leave. But I’m thankful we can all see blessings coming from this big, bold move! Glad you were here to catch a glimpse into our daily farm life. So VERY different! xo!

    1. Different indeed, but it seems to be agreeing with you!

  19. How wonderful that your daughter and family are living the life they want and it seems like they have accustomed very well…..The farm is beautiful and they look so very happy…I hope they get their chicken virus resolved…farm life may look beautiful but lots of hard work!!…So happy for them!

    1. Yes, Shirley, they seem to be very happy with their new life which is quite a departure from what they left behind. Lets hope it continues.

  20. Hallie Cecile Hasenbank Avatar
    Hallie Cecile Hasenbank

    I like your post Lulu! Fun to see our farm on your blog!

    Read..Write..Run Hallie

    1. More to come, Hallie.

  21. I totally applaud them for making the leap! I don’t know that I would be brave enough. I’m not exactly an outdoor kind of girl including fear of anything that moves too fast or makes any kind of noise that isn’t human, loathing of bad smells, hatred of mud & dirt, allergies…you get the picture. 🙂 I am a city girl through and through, but it’s great to visit and see how our farm-dwelling counterparts live! Their home is so big and beautiful…not at all like Old McDonald’s Farm! 🙂

    Looks like their house has similar color choices to those I recently chose for our Colonial-style home. Love it! They even painted the fencing black…love it, too!

    Sorry about the ducks and chickens! 😦 I hope those problems can be remedied soon!

    1. It’s a good thing they made the decision to try farm living now because there’s lots of work involved. The hubby and I decided it’s too late for us to want to live on a farm.

  22. I’m very jealous of your daughter and son in law, what a beautiful farm they live on!

    1. A big decision to say the least.

  23. What an idyllic scene. I am so proud of Lindsey, (and all the family!) It really is a beautiful place and as you say, they seem to be flourishing in it, hard work and all. You’ve raised two amazing women. Hmmmm, chips off the ‘ol block.

    1. It is a beautiful place, and it’s easy to see why they are content with their deception to leave Houston.

  24. Oh, this is so my life – making the change from city to farm life. It’s wonderful that you are supportive of them in their choice to live “differently”. I’m sure it means a lot to your daughter. Beautiful home and farm! Your daughter and husband look happy. Hard work can do that, too. 😉 What a treasured time for you to be with them in their new life.
    His blessings to you all!
    Kim @ Curtain Queen

    1. Kim, we were stunned when they made this decision, but they are happy and that makes if OK. If they were going to do it, the time was right because a farm is lots of hard work.

You make my day with your comments