What’s With Nutella?


Preparing strawberry and nutella filled crepes  during the French Foodie Adventure, 2013
Preparing strawberry and nutella filled crepes during the French Foodie Adventure, 2013

I first tasted Nutella in Europe some years ago which makes sense since it has long been popular there. Created in Italy, it is a chocolate hazelnut spread that can be used in a variety of ways and is now commonly found on U.S. grocery shelves.

Nutella cookiesI bought a jar to play around with and found it to be a nice addition to cookies that started out as oatmeal raisin but became something else.   I added a little of this and that, and the result is a tasty crispy cookie that quite by accident is also gluten free.  Ordinarily I don’t like baking with gluten free flour, but by mistake I used it instead of regular flour and luckily the cookie turned out fine.  

Nutella cookiesJudging from how fast they are disappearing from the cookie can, they must be pretty good!

If you are in the mood to bake after all the holiday cooking, this is the recipe.

Nutella Oatmeal Cookies

3/4 c. granulated sugar

3/4 c. brown sugar

3/4 c. softened butter

2 eggs

1 t. vanilla

1 1/4 c. flour (I used Red Mill gluten free by accident)

1 t. baking soda

1 c. Nutella

2 1/2 c. uncooked oats

1 c. Craisins

1 c. white chocolate chips

Cream together sugars and butter.  Add eggs one at a time, vanilla and Nutella, mixing well.  Gradually add in combined flour and soda.  Stir in oats, Craisins and white chocolate chips.  Drop by teaspoon onto ungreased baking sheet and bake at 350 for 10 minutes.  Cool on wire rack.

Next time I make these I’m thinking of adding a little coconut, too.  What do you think?

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Foodie Friday

9 responses to “What’s With Nutella?”

  1. […] Nutella and Oatmeal Gluten Free Cookies from Lulu Musing […]

  2. Almond and chocolate is to die for. I have found the almond butter in the stores but not nutella. Well these is always choc/almond ice cream and candy.

  3. I haven’t joined in with nutella yet…
    Maybe in the new year.

  4. I know an aspiring actress who thanks the country Italy for inventing Italy. I thought it was hilarious.

  5. I am obsessed with nutella! Such good flavor. I bet it is amazing in an oatmeal cookie.

  6. Yummmm! I like the sound of nutella with oatmeal, and bonus that they can be made gluten free! Will make these soon, thanks!

  7. My mom used to buy it when we were kids but then got away from it. My hubby does not eat foods with gluten so this is a great recipe to try. Thanks! Have a great weekend!

  8. I love the first photo – reminds of being a kid in France and having crepes with chocolate or nutella – happy days 🙂 And I can see why the cookies are disappearing so quickly!

You make my day with your comments