First Things First


When we first get to our Maine house, we take a quick look around to make sure all is as it should be.  For the most part, everything is OK but for one place, the back porch.

Maine house porchThe porch is bare but for the iron bench that is too heavy to carry down the stairs to the basement when we store everything for the winter.  It can’t stay that way long because the porch is where we spend so much time.

Rockport HarborFor starters, the porch gives a grand view to Rockport Harbor which we love even on a foggy day.

Rockport HarborIt is where we sit to have coffee and enjoy beautiful morning light

Rockport Harboror to take in the drama of an evening sunset.  

lobster boats, Rockport HarborThe porch is where we observe the comings and goings of lobster boats.  In short, first things first so lets get the porch furniture out of the basement,  up the stairs and on the porch.  Extra hands are appreciated!

Maine house porchFirst come the rockers where the hubby and I sit for all of the aforementioned  or to play an afternoon game of gin.

Maine house porchThe furniture is heavy, so we don’t bring it all up at once, but before the first round of guests, we will get one end of the porch organized for socializing.  This year cute indoor/outdoor pillows from TJ Maxx add some color

Maine house porchas do pots of brightly colored flowers.  Putting these together is a lot more fun to me than hauling heavy furniture!

Maine house porchBirdhouses and heart rocks, some of my favorite things, sit on a table in the corner.  The heart rocks are a story unto themselves, and one day it is one I’ll have to share.

Maine house porchThis cute little planter that I found at the nursery will tie right in with the birdhouses and maybe even attract a tweety bird to its branches.

Maine house porchAll done, it’s time to sit and rock, admire our handiwork and indulge in an afternoon treat.  It would be a pleasure to have you join us.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

The Scoop

You’re Gonna Love It Tuesday

Wow Us Wednesday

Before and After Wednesday

43 responses to “First Things First”

  1. […] style home office reveal from Lee Caroline.  Beautiful! How gorgeous is this porch from Lulu’s Musings? What a lovely place to spend an afternoon.   Poppy View changed up her entryway by doing […]

  2. Simply Suzannes at Home

    Oh my heavens, your view is incredible!
    I LOVE the photo with the red boat. It’s absolutely frame-worthy!
    Thanks so much for sharing.
    Have a wonderful week,
    Suzanne

    1. Thank you. Sometimes you get lucky and get a shot when the light is just right.

  3. This looks like a beautiful tranquil place. Enjoy your summer!

    1. Thank you. You can be sure of there being lots of porch time.

  4. I could take that view relaxing in the summer breezes! Fabulous photos, Linda.

  5. What a beautiful spot! Thank you for sharing. You are one of the features today at The Round-Up from the Before & After Wednesday party at The Dedicated House. Here is the link if you want to check out your feature. http://www.thededicatedhouse.com/2014/07/the-round-up-from-before-and-after_8.html Hope to see you again tomorrow at the bash! Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

  6. Can’t think of a nicer spot to sit anytime of the day. Love your chair planter…it is a nice addition.

  7. I would live on your porch all summer! What stunning photos and views! Your chair planter is beyond adorable~and I love your bright pillows and flowers with your wonderful white furniture. We have to bring our porch furniture inside during hurricane months of Aug/Sept and it is a pain!
    Jenna

  8. What a lovely transformation, Lulu. 🙂 The view is absolutely stunning. Enjoy your stay there.

  9. OH My word the views from your porch are stunning, as are the photographs. I shall follow your blog with interest 🙂

    1. Thank you, I will try to be interesting. (<:

  10. What an amazing view you have…I would never leave the porch! Our family collects heart shaped rocks for my niece’s heart garden to honor the loss of her her baby girl that was born and died of a very rare heart condition.
    Have a wonderful week, Linda.

    1. I will think of that every time I pick up a heart rock. It is special to have them mean something.

  11. Lulu, you are so lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the world.

  12. Adorable… Just out of a magazine… Love it…

  13. The planter is a treat! I’ll have to rememer that idea. And what a pleasur eit must be to sit on the porch and watch the world go by.

  14. Oh my gosh…I knew you had a great view, but I must say your views are simply sensational !!!…I love Maine…I just cannot imagine how peaceful it must be to sit out there each morning and greet the day and count your blessings for waking up and being able to enjoy the view at any time of day for that matter….love the porch and those cute pillows!

  15. Man, this looks like heaven! ANd what a view!!!! VERY different from Texas, I’m sure!

  16. Maine the way life should be . . . welcome home! I just love your summertime photographs ~ the porch is absolutely perfect as you settle down to enjoy the harbor views.

  17. Wonderful, Linda. Great ideas for our patio. Thanks.

  18. How beautiful!! Enjoy every minute!

  19. It looks amazing! One day I would love to have a place in Maine like that. 🙂

    1. Grace, if you dream long enough, sometimes dreams come true.

  20. Such an amazing spot…Rockport harbour looks beautiful. What a wonderful place to have a house….and a boat….truly envious:)

    1. It has been said that Rockport Harbor is one of the most beautiful sites in the country. To me, there is no question!

  21. A wonderful adventure, Lulu, following your pictures as you transform the bare porch with rocking chairs, flowers, and happy feelings welcoming delightful views and relaxed conversations.

  22. How gorgeous! I love the planter chair~

    1. Thanks Cindy. I think it’s pretty cute.

  23. Beautiful views and the right temps to enjoy them. Enjoy!
    The humidity is here so porch sitting is for shorter periods.

    1. Same would be true in Houston. There, summer porch sitting is limited to early morning if then.

  24. Your photos are just amazing and the one of the red sailboat will be my new summer screensaver..enjoy your wonderful views .

    1. And you enjoy my little piece of heaven on your computer screen.

  25. Great post, beautiful place. I’m so glad you can have this retreat. Enjoy!!!!😀

    1. I pinch myself often just to make sure I’m really in this beautiful place.

  26. It all looks so inviting!

  27. What a lovely welcoming transformation of your bare winter porch! Such lovely views…

  28. Accepting reservations for visitors? It looks wonderful.

    1. Just as good as it looks, too.

  29. Lulu, now this is what I call living! I could sit on that porch and take in the few for hours. Hubby and I are game playing people too. He would be in seventh heaven watching ships! Now your porch looks so homey and welcoming!
    hugs,
    Jann

You make my day with your comments