Plates, Plates and More Plates


platesThere’s nothing new about using plates as wall decor whether hung simply

platesor in interesting arrangement.

platesThey add color

platesand touches of whimsy.

tablescape/platesSo, having seen the many creative ways plates can add interest, they seemed a good way to fill a blank wall.  The result sometimes shows up as background in one of my posted tablescapes, and many of you have asked how it was done.  Well, here’s the story.

platesIt started with a couple of oyster plates and an artichoke plate, not quite enough for a wall, so off to Marshall’s for inspiration.  What caught my eye were the shapes and textures of white, not what I had been thinking of at all.  Selecting plates to add to the three I had became a fun creative exercise and a very inexpensive one!

At home came the hard part, deciding how to hang them.  I arranged the plates by size and texture on the floor. Looking down at them, my first thought was there was too little dimension.    Yes, I do like dimension, so the question became how to have some overlapping layers.

plates Long nails from the hardware store provided the answer.  I have to tell you though, I made a few extra holes in the wall before I figured out that the bottom nail had to hit exactly the right spot, inside the rim, on the back of the plate.  Fortunately, a little putty and paint repaired the damage that likely would have been avoided had my engineer hubby been around during the hanging!  While the paint was out, I also painted the nails to make them less conspicuous.

platesThough I started the project with a template, a fixed plan didn’t last long as each plate began to define its own place.  The one in the middle went up first and from there the arrangement took on a life of its own.  The finished result is unexpectedly sculptural which makes it all the more interesting.

So, there you have it, the story of the plate wall.  No special skills are required, just a little playful imagination and a few long nails.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Make It Pretty Monday

Metamorphosis Monday

From Dream to Reality

Wow Us Wednesday

28 responses to “Plates, Plates and More Plates”

  1. […] beautiful plate wall gallery!  To see how she managed the overlapping effect, head on over to Lulu’s Musings.  Make it Pretty Monday Furniture Transformation […]

  2. Great blog! Can’t wait to see what you feature next!!!!

  3. Thanks for sharing this innovated layering of plates.
    Greetings from South Africa
    Sabdra

    1. And thank you for stopping by.

  4. I love this!! Thank you for sharing. You are one of the features at the Make it Pretty Monday party. Here is the link to this week’s party. http://www.thededicatedhouse.com/2014/09/make-it-pretty-monday-week-115.html Hope to see you at the bash! Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

    1. Thank you, sweet Kathryn. I hope the post will be inspiration for your readers.

  5. Your plate wall is fabulous! Thanks for the tip on hanging plates so they overlap.
    Mary Alice

    1. There may be a better way, but I didn’t find it!

  6. Creative and interesting, and you did a wonderful job with it. The day I have a blank wall, this is the first thing I’ll do. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    1. You are welcome. It’s a great way to create your own art wall.

  7. Very clever to overlap the plates. It looks fabulous!
    Karee

  8. Your plate wall is so pretty! I think the oyster plate is my favorite. 🙂

    Happy day to you friend!
    karianne

  9. That is a great collection! I love the oyster plates. I can’t imagine the work it must have taken to arrange them and then hand them, but it sure turned out beautifully!

    1. It was actually a fun project even if I did make a few extra holes in the wall.

  10. You do have to have an artistic eye to do this (and I suspect some determination too). It turned out so pretty. laurie

  11. Very nice way to display it!

  12. What an interesting wall of art…love all the different shapes, textures and bits of color.
    Have a great week, Linda.

  13. I love the added dimension of your plate wall. You did a fantastic job with it!

  14. Wonderful arrangements…You did a beautiful job on creating something unique and pretty.

    1. Thank you for stopping by and leaving your kind words.

  15. I have always admired those layered plate arrangements…LOVE yours…you did a fantastic job..

    1. Thank you. It was a fun little project.

  16. I did notice your plate wall in your last tablescape Lulu, and meant to comment on it~I love the all white, interesting but not overpowering~ very lovely~
    Jenna

  17. Very artistic, Lulu. You have a great collection. :!

  18. I noticed those plates in your post and you are right, I did wonder how did she do that. I have a few items hung on my kitchen wall from a set I bought at an auction 30 years ago when I was 18 years old. I loved them and still do to this day!! I hung a platter, bowl, dinner plate and serving plate. Everyone comments on them.

    1. Funny how much more attention plates get on the wall than in the cabinet!

You make my day with your comments