Storybook Cottage


Linda  068On a recent visit, my daughter’s house was overflowing with her and her sister’s families, so the hubby and I stayed in a cozy little cottage in Franklin, just outside of Leiper’s Fork.  Storybook Cottage may have been the best of all worlds.

Linda  067Come on in and take a look.

Linda  085I would describe the decor as a blend of French country and farm house style merged together very tastefully.

cottageNo detail was spared and at every turn there was something to catch the eye.

Linda  072I loved this box of quotations and wanted to copy every one.  If anyone knows where I can find a set, do share.

Linda  079I could have spent all my time nestled in the delightful bedroom.

Linda  070It appealed to my weaver self with its vignettes of threads and spindles,

Linda  071buttons and balls of fabric strips.

Linda  078Tucked in a window alcove was a little desk where I could imagine writing or day dreaming.

cottage2All in all this was a perfect retreat where one could relax and enjoy the quiet.  If you are ever in the area, this cottage and several others are available through Shelter + Roost.  I’m betting all are equally charming.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Metamorphosis Monday

Make It Pretty Monday

The Scoop

Inspire Me Tuesday

Share Your Cup Thursday

59 responses to “Storybook Cottage”

  1. […] storybook cottage.  The floors, the chandy…so much to see.  Pop on over to  Lulu’s Musings to take a tour of this delightful hidden spot in the world.  3rd Place for Most Views from […]

  2. Love the cottage – wish it were my home because it looks so cozy.

  3. Ooh a wonderful hideaway for grownups! So relaxing, peaceful and calm… excellent decore , and the thread spools are a beautiful bonus!

  4. Linda, just saw this cottage featured on Jann’s blog and immediately recognized it. It was styled by Kim and David Legg of City Farmhouse! They have a shop in Franklin, and host a popup show each year. This year they’ll be hosting two – June and October. Great place!

    1. Yes, Kim was kind enough to reach out and tell me of her involvement and she featured the post in her FB page. I did a follow up post thanking her, linking to the shop and mentioning the shows. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Just hopping back to let you know that I am featuring you at SYC this week Lulu.
    hugs,
    Jann

    1. You are very kind to feature Storybook Cottage. Thank you.

  6. Linda, what a gorgeous place! Thank you for sharing. You are one of the fan favorites at the Sunday Showcase from the Make it Pretty Monday party at The Dedicated House. Here is the link to the Showcase so you can check out your feature. http://www.thededicatedhouse.com/2015/02/sunday-showcase-from-make-it-pretty.html Hope to see you again tomorrow at the bash! Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

    1. Thank you so very much for featuring Storybook Cottage. It is full of inspiration.

  7. You had me with the painted floors until I saw the Hershey Bars! Adorble!

  8. we’ve stayed there and loved it. we live locally but needed a quick getaway.

    1. Storybook Cottage would be a wonderful in town getaway. I suggested that to my daughter.

  9. Truly cozy place. And I love how everything is wooden. 🙂
    I don’t know if I can handle too much quotations to remind me things all the time though. 🙂 😀

    1. I’d like to say something worth quoting!

  10. Very enchanting . . . I’ve bookmarked the website; and now I’m going looking for those quote cards. Thanks for sharing it all, Linda.

  11. I think I’ve seen these quote cards at a paper shop in Ithaca, NY.
    Beautiful little shop. Here’s a link… http://mockingbirdpaperie.com

    1. Thanks very much for the info and your visit.

  12. Oh my gosh, I am swooning over this place! I love that checkered floor. We are putting in a garden shed up on the hill this Summer and I want to do that to the floor! The quotes are wonderful! If you find out anything let me know, I would love them as well. Maybe we could just type up our own. I have an old sewing machine drawer I could put them in. Glad you got to stay in this delightful place! Would love if you linked this to Share Your Cup tomorrow!
    hugs,
    Jann

    1. Thank you, Jann. I’m going to check out a suggestion this weekend. If I find 2 sets, would you like me to get one for you?

      1. would love it Lulu!

  13. When you get back to Franklin, stop in The Factory in the morning on Saturday for the Farmer’s Mkt and go inside to see the antique stoves that are on display in various locations of the mill. You’d probably love the Antique Store there, too!

    1. Karen, thanks for the tip. I so enjoy going to the Franklin market and exploring The Factory.

  14. yes, what a delightful cottage right out of a fairy tale! Love the painted floor 🙂

  15. Oooh…I love everything about this cottage! If I didn’t live on a beautiful farm right down the road, I’d stay there in a heartbeat! 🙂 Aren’t you glad we had a full house? What a treat for you!

    1. Good suggestion and I’m hoping for a second stay.

  16. Gorgeous! We’re just south of Franklin and love that area! This would be a perfect getaway for the husband and me.

    Thanks for sharing.

    1. If you have cause for celebration, this would be the perfect spot!

  17. Well done Kim Leggett, perfect. I think the quote box is from Sugarboo Designs.

    1. Thanks Susie, you are right so if I can’t get them in Franklin I know where to order.

  18. We had a blast decorating this cute cottage! Just started on another great project for Sarah! You can get those quote boxes at Shoppe Around the Corner in Franklin. xx Kim & City Farmhouse in Franklin, Tn.

    1. Thank you, Kim. I will be in Franklin this weekend visiting my daughter and will be sure to go by the shop hoping they have the cards. Great job on the cottage by the way.

      1. Mom, Kim’s shop is the one I love so much. Also the one who organized the barn show I did last year. She’s uber talented!

    1. I’m not surprised the style appeals to you.

  19. Love finally seeing this place! I love it! 🙂

    1. There was a place for you in the loft! Next time.

  20. I love everything about the cottage. Beautiful, cozy, very relaxing. Wishing you and your family the happiest of blessings for 2015.

    1. Thank you for your sweet wishes.

  21. Love the exposed brick and painted floors. Such a charmer!

    1. Charming it is! Thanks for stopping by.

  22. What a cozy little place… Lovely…

  23. Very nice place to stay!

  24. What a cute house! Someone really has an eye for decorating with the beautiful and simple. I would love to visit Franklin. I’ve heard the shopping is fantastic!

    Jane x

    1. Shopping is good, so is just being there!

  25. So much fun! This is a real cute cottage Lulu ~

  26. I love the Franklin area but was not aware of these cottages. Thanks, linda for sharing. This would be great for a shopping week-end!

    1. Ah yes, but you might never want to leave the cottage!

  27. Like a Gingerbread House…love the little building to the side:)

    1. Yes, as did I. The touch of color amidst the brown of winter was a nice surprise.

  28. I LOVE this cottage…I will be researching Shelter and Roost…Always wanted to go to Franklin and now i know where to stay!….

    1. You would love it! The cottage is a great get away.

  29. blueberriejournal Avatar
    blueberriejournal

    What a beautiful place…

  30. Is this near Franklin, NC?

    1. No, Sherleen, it’s Franklin,Tennessee.

  31. What a delightful cottage!

  32. Where is Franklin??
    I am on the way.
    That is soooo cute. I love the painted yellow floors..

    1. Yes, Suzy, you would love this place in Franklin, Tennessee. In fact, you’d love Franklin!

You make my day with your comments