Next: Cannoli


fullsizerenderStarting at Sicily’s Catania airport, I was in cannoli heaven!  I’m not sure why, but it is one of my favorite sweets and not a common menu offering in the States.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhat really set cannoli in Sicily apart was having it made with fresh, creamy ricotta inserted into just made shells.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After watching a demonstration of the whole process in Ragusa, I determined that cannoli was doable and would definitely be the dessert for the anticipated Sicilian gourmet gathering.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The first step was ordering these little tubes around which the cannoli dough is wrapped for frying.  They allow the shells to hold their shape and to slide off easily once they are done.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Making the shells requires a bit of elbow grease, a pasta maker or rolling pin and a lot of patience.  Might I add that’s it more fun with two as there is opportunity for lots of chuckles.  All done, there is quite a sense of accomplishment!

img_8232-1Most cannoli has a ricotta based filling that may have such as pistachios, candied fruit or chocolate chips as an added ingredient.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThinking that everyone would like it, I opted for a filling with chocolate chips and a subtle taste of orange.  If there is a best hint for making cannoli, it is to use a pastry tube to fill the shells otherwise it’s a messy process.

OK, there you have it, a perfect ending to a Sicilian dinner.  What made it especially fun was the arancini and the cannoli were firsts for some of the diners, and you know how hard it is to introduce new tastes to gourmands.

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Joining

Dishing It & Digging It

39 responses to “Next: Cannoli”

  1. I am no sweet tooth but have just got back from Catania/Aci Trezza and have returned with a real weakness for Cannoli! Thanks for your post 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing. I am off to Sicily soon and this has got me in the mood! 🙂

    1. Aran I I and cannoli in Sicily can’t be beat! Enjoy your trip.

  3. Your cannolies look soo delicious——wonder if there is such a thing as gluten free shells—–sure wouldn’t be as good though ❤❤❤.

    1. I can’t imagine not being able to adjust the recipe with gluten free flour. It’s worth looking into. I was happy with the way mine turned out but could have used P’s help rolling the dough!

  4. Those look so good.

    1. Not as good as they tasted!

  5. Oh my, now i have to have one. 🙂
    I think they’re delicious.

    1. I wouldn’t mind having one either!😉

  6. Great job!! My grandmother used to roll her cannoli dough around metal hair curlers she bought specifically for the job when I was a child. Then she fried them in a cast iron dutch oven in a white solid which could have been lard or crisco but I can’t remember. I remember thinking how gross they were until I tried the filling separately one time. Now I make the filling and just eat that as my treat lol!!! Someday I will try the homemade shells.

    1. I love this story, Tina.

  7. Can’t imagine how wonderful homemade Cannoli is!!! I love your “can do” spirit!

  8. Linda, They look and sound wonderful. I’ve never had one that I know of but maybe I’ll get the chance.

  9. Oh boy, cannoli and arancini, wow, I am impressed! I will be craving cannoli now!

  10. Linda, also a favorite of mine. I have never tried to make, but you have given me the confidence that I can. The best cannoli that I have ever eaten was in a fabulous Italian restaurant in Calgary, Alberta!

  11. Marcia F.Gardner Avatar
    Marcia F.Gardner

    I too am from Miami (born there). Come to Houston and let’s make canolis with Lulu, and maybe share with spouses and friends! Mange.

  12. Wow, these look amazing. They do seem laborious, but definitely worth it! I love your comment about making these with someone for the giggles of it. 🙂

  13. One of my favorites too… Yum…

  14. I’m coming to your house for dinner.. that’s my favorite as well.. there’s an Italian deli cafe in Chatswood that does very authentic ones too.. I HAVE to avoid the area! xx thanks for posting..

  15. Fantastic!! What fun!

  16. Love cannoli! There are cannoli to be found here in High Point and Greensboro. I am sure they are not as tasty as yours! You are such a good cook!

  17. Yum! My husband loves Cannoli’s!!

  18. lulu – looks wonderful – and it is hard to intro new tastes -and I wish I could now sample these…
    I have not had cannoli since the 80s and 90s – and the ones I had were a bit larger than these – but yours look amazing

    1. I was not unhappy with the way they turned out. Size was actually determined by the tube.

  19. Oh how I love cannoli

  20. Oh my gosh!! The most beautiful cannolies I have ever seen! I bet they are over the moon delish!!

    1. They all got eaten!

  21. Have not had these for a long long time. Left Miami and now in Greensboro, NC. No place here for them or any Italian pastry for that matter. .

    1. You would have liked the Sicilian dinner. BTW, how are you liking the change from Miami?

      1. Miami too crowded, high crime , four seasons of hot,hot,hot,hot and if you are a natural born American you are a stranger in your own country and don’t belong there. Could not stand that. Greensboro much tamer and people friendly. Yes I would enjoy the dinner as I am 1/4 Roman, 1/4 Spaniard and 1/2 half Sicilian.

      2. Good, I’m glad you are happy in your new environs.

  22. I lived 4 glorious years in Sicily in the 1990’s. I ate very very well. I also acquired a great collection of Patti ceramic dishes. Sadly, most did not survive all the moves.

    1. Then you can appreciate how much I enjoyed the flavors.

      1. Yes, I still dream of Sunday dinner at my landlords home. It was an all day affair.

You make my day with your comments