Lobster Risotto


lobster risottoHaving easy access to lobster most of the year, I have become the Bubba (think Forrest Gump) of lobster.  It’s good just about any way you fix it, but one of my favorite recipes is lobster risotto.  Don’t fool yourself into thinking it’s difficult because it’s not, and it’s a dish that will have your dinner companions asking for more.  

Lobster Risotto

1 t. olive or vegetable oil

4 T. unsalted butter

2 shallots, finely chopped

1 1/2 c. arborio rice

1/2 t. cayenne pepper

1/3 c. dry white vermouth (white wine will work, too)

6-6 1/2 c. chicken stock, heated

8 oz. cherry tomatoes, halved or quartered (can be omitted if

you aren’t crazy about tomatoes or don’t have them on hand)

2-3 T. cream (I use heavy but whipping is OK)

2 c. lobster meat cut into chunks

2 T. dill

salt/white pepper

Heat oil and half the butter in large pan over medium heat. Add shallots and cook til softened.

cooking away/lobster risottoAdd rice and cayenne; stir for about 2 minutes til rice is well coated with oil and butter.

Add vermouth (or wine) and about 1 c. of broth. Stir til stock is absorbed. Continue the stock addition til all is gone. This takes about 20-25 minutes. I’ve found you don’t have to constantly stir, but keep an eye on the risotto so it doesn’t cook dry. It should have a creamy texture and be tender but firm to the bite.

Stir in tomatoes and cream and cook for about 2 minutes.  Add the cooked lobster, remaining butter and dill and cook til lobster is heated through.

  This is enough for about 4-6 servings, and you don’t need anything else but a green salad and  yummy bread.

Enjoy!

i so appreciate your visit and the comments you leave behind

Linked to Foodie Friday and Laurie’s Favorite Things

 

19 responses to “Lobster Risotto”

  1. […] word about the lobster risotto or any risotto for that matter.  Many people steer away from risotto thinking it has to be made […]

  2. […] Lobster Risotto at LuLu’s Musings. Oh my! […]

  3. […] of the pot, these guys are ready for the hubby to clean to go into lobster risotto, lobster pot pie, lobster ravioli, lobster stew….well, you get the picture.   Sometimes we […]

  4. […] company, lobster risotto is sure to get […]

  5. […] with lobster in a variety of dishes.  One of my favorites is lobster risotto, usually the one here.   Yummy as is, I decided to tweak it a bit for this night’s dinner with friends.  Corn and […]

  6. Now this looks divine!1 I bet it tastes divine too!

    Thanks so much for stopping by!

    Warmly,
    Debbie

  7. Yum, lobstah, my favorite food.
    Nice new(?) background color.

    1. I’ve never been known to be a one color girl!

  8. I love Lobster Risotto, but I’ve never prepared it – I’ve only eaten it in restaurants. Your recipe doesn’t sound difficult (other than having access to fresh shell fish). I will be definitely be taking this recipe with me the next time I go to Florida. We stay in a condo and eat fresh fish every day, because it is such a treat for us. Thank you for sharing the recipe, and thank you for linking to Favorite Things. laurie

    1. Not difficult at all to make this dish. In Florida it would be very easy to use fresh gulf shrimp instead of lobster.

  9. This looks like the Ultimate Comfort Food! Risotto is delightful, but you had me at Lobster!

    1. I heard from a reader yesterday that she’s already tried the risotto, subbing shrimp for lobster, and she described it as you say: the ultimate comfort food!

  10. I am SO saving this recipe! I have shellfish allergies too but fish and shrimp are ok, so I will sub them and Himself will over the moon (He adores this kind of meal!)
    Thanks!!!

    1. Looks wonderful and I love both lobster and risotto — however, lobster is rare and pricey on the prairie . . . but it does look like a great dish!

  11. Oh, be still my beating heart, I LOVE lobster risotto! Thanks for the recipe. I won’t be making it often, but I WILL make it.

  12. I wish that I had access to lots of lobster! It’s my favorite shell fish. Your recipe sounds delightful and I’ll have to give it a try.

    Love,
    Susan and Bentley
    xxoo

  13. This sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe. ~ Sarah

  14. Thanks for visiting!.., The book that you are reading; ‘Fall of Giants’, sounds interesting, especially with all of that tea drinking!

    The Risotto recipe looks amazing!.., Thanks for sharing it with us..,
    Unfortunately I am allergic to shell fish,(however with the Dill and other ingredients, perhaps I could adapt the recipe to use Salmon instead)..,

    Cheers and hugs from Wanda Lee

  15. Sounds delicious. I have everything but the lobster! 🙂
    That is a good way to stretch out the lobster, for sure!

You make my day with your comments